Languages, Humanities and the Arts


Chairs, Coordinators and Full-time Faculty


Art & Design

Chair — Lou Pierrozzi, Professor of Art
lpierozz@oakton.edu

Moritz Kellerman, Professor of Art
mkellerm@oakton.edu

Judy Langston, Professor of Art and Graphic Design
Coordinator, Graphic and Multimedia
clouds@oakton.edu

Mark Palmeri, Professor of Art
mpalmeri@oakton.edu

Erick Rohn, Assistant Professor of Art
erohn@oakton.edu

Economics

Elena Ermolenko-Fein
eermolen@oakton.edu

Education

Katherine Schuster, Coordinator
(also... Psychology)
schuster@oakton.edu


English (English, English as a Second Language, Reading, Business and Technical Writing, and WSAT)

Chair  Donovan Braud, Professor of English
dbraud@oakton.edu

Danielle Aquiline, Associate Professor of English
aquiline@oakton.edu

Jelena Bankovic, Associate Professor of English
bankovic@oakton.edu

Amy Blumenthal, Professor of English
amyblu@oakton.edu

Carol Bustamante, Associate Professor of English
cbustama@oakton.edu

Stacy Cameron, Assistant Professor of English
Coordinator, English as a Second Language (ESL)
scameron@oakton.edu

Will Crawford, Professor of English
crawford@oakton.edu

Anna Cuomo-Paul, Professor of English
acuomo@oakton.edu

Madhuri Deshmukh, Professor of English
Coordinator, Literature & Creative Writing
Coodinator, Peace & Social Justice
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu

Tina Fakhrid-Deen, Assistant Professor of English
tfakhrid@oakton.edu

Virginia Gibbons, Professor of English
vgibbon@oakton.edu  

Kristen Hren, Associate Professor of English
khren@oakton.edu

Scott Johnson, Professor of English
Coordinator, Business & Techincal Writing (Technical Communication)
sjohnson@oakton.edu

Daryl Long, Assistant Professor of English
dlong@oakton.edu

Michael Mauritzen, Assistant Professor of English
Coordinator, Great Books
mmauritz@oakton.edu

Lori Oster, Assistant Professor of English
loster@oakton.edu

Daniel Roth, Associate Professor of English
Coordinator, Developmental English
droth@oakton.edu

Philip Sloan, Associate Professor of English
psloan@oakton.edu

Marian Staats, Assistant Professor of English
Co-coordinator, Environmental Studies
mstaats@oakton.edu

History and Political Science

Erick Mann, Chair
emann@oakton.edu

George Lungu, Political Science
Honors Program Co-Coordinator
lungu@oakton.edu

Wendy Adele-Marie
wadelemarie@oakton.edu

Michael Nicholsen
mnichols@oakton.edu

Humanities and Philosophy

Co-chair — Hollace Graff, Professor of Philosophy
hgraff@oakton.edu

Co-chair — Mohamed Mehdi, Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
mmehdi@oakton.edu

Thomas Bowen, Professor of Philosophy
Co-coordinator, Honors Program
tbowen@oakton.edu

Carlos Briones, Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
cbriones@oakton.edu

Kathleen Carot, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
Coordinator, Women’s Studies Program
kcarot@oakton.edu

Peter Hudis, Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
phudis@oakton.edu

Kristin McCartney, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
kmccartn@oakton.edu

Glenna Sprague, Professor of Music
Coodinator of Music
gsprague@oakton.edu

Charles Townsend, Associate Professor of Humanities and Philosophy

Amy Zumfelde, Professor of Modern Languages
azumfeld@oakton.edu

Jewish Studies

Wendy Adele-Marie, Coordinator
wadelemarie@oakton.edu


Modern Languages

(Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish)

Chair — Marguerite Solari, Professor of Modern Languages
solari@oakton.edu

Camille Harrison, Professor of Modern Languages
harrison@oakton.edu

Michael Kristiansen, Associate Professor of Modern Languages
mkristia@oakton.edu

Amy Zumfelde, Professor of Modern Languages
azumfeld@oakton.edu

Psychology, Anthropology, Human Services and Sociology

Chair — Eva de la Riva
delariva@oakton.edu

Marvin Bornschlegl, (part-time faculty) Human Services Coordinator
mbornsch@oakton.edu

John D'Anca (Psychology and Student Development)
johnd@oakton.edu

Robert Frank
bfrank@oakton.edu

Victoria Giambrone (Anthropology)
vgiambro@oakton.edu

Greg Hamill (Sociology)
ghamill@oakton.edu

Lindsey Hewitt (Anthropology)
lhewitt@oakton.edu

Michelle James (Psychology and Student Development)
mjames@oakton.edu

Mary Johannesen-Schmidt (Psychology)
mjohanne@oakton.edu

Paul Johnson (Psychology and Student Development)
pjohnson@oakton.edu

Anika Jones (Anthropology and Sociology)
ajones@oakton.edu

Megan Klein (Anthropology and Sociology)
mklein@oakton.edu

Michelle Naffziger-Hirsch (Sociology)
mnaffzig@oakton.edu

Hassan Sayeed (Psychology)
hsayeed@oakton.edu

Cary Schawel (Psychology and Student Development)
carys@oakton.edu

Jan Thompson-Wilda (Psychology and Student Development)
jan@oakton.edu

Joan Warmbold-Boggs (Psychology)
jwarmbol@oakton.edu

Social Sciences

Richard Stacewicz, Social Science
rstacewi@oakton.edu


Speech, Theater and Music

Chair — John Frisco, Professor of Speech and Theater
jfrisco@oakton.edu

Veronda G. Carey, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
vcarey@oakton.edu

Kathleen Carot, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
Coordinator, Women’s Studies Program
kcarot@oakton.edu

Robert Gynn, Professor of Speech and Theater
bgynn@oakton.edu

Mary Ringstad, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
ringstad@oakton.edu

Glenna M. Sprague, Professor of Music
Coordinator of Music
gsprague@oakton.edu