Allowing comments and rubric assessments on your content

Enabling comments on an artifact, collection, reflection, presentation, or learning objective allows users who are viewing the item to leave feedback. Use this feature to collaborate with peers so they may congratulate you on your work, provide constructive criticism, or point out additional resources.

Enabling assessments for an artifact, collection, reflection, presentation, or learning objective allows users with the appropriate permissions to evaluate the item using a rubric. You must select which rubric you want users to evaluate your work against from the list of rubrics provided by your organization.

When others comment and assess an item in your portfolio, their feedback becomes a part of the item. You can see it below the item's details when viewing the item, or through the feeds and widgets on your ePortfolio dashboard.

Set your preferences so comments or assessments are enabled by default

  1. Click the Settings link from the top of any page in ePortfolio.
  2. Select Allow comments on reflections, artifacts, collections, presentations, and learning objectives by default or Allow assessments on artifacts, collections, presentations, and learning objectives by default.
  3. Click Save.

Enable comments

  1. Open the Edit page for the artifact, collection, reflection, presentation, or learning objective you want to enable comments for.
  2. Select Allow others to add/view comments if they have sufficient permission.
  3. Click Save and Close.

Note  Selecting this check box allows users with the appropriate permissions to leave comments on the item. Click Share from an item's context menu to assign permissions to a user.

Enable assessments

  1. Open the Edit page for the artifact, collection, reflection, or presentation you want to enable comments for.
  2. Select Allow others to add/view assessments if they have sufficient permission.
  3. Click Add Rubrics.
  4. Select the rubric you want to attach and click Add Selected.
  5. Click Save and Close.

Note  Selecting this check box allows users with the appropriate permissions to leave assessments on the item. Click Share from an item's context menu to assign permissions to a user.

See also

 

Desire2Learn Help | About ePortfolio