Viewing items shared with you

There are various ways for you to discover, categorize, follow, and review content shared with you in ePortfolio.

Explore

The Explore page consolidates items others have shared with you or publically into one view. Others' shared ePortfolio items display in a list that you can sort by name or date modified, ascending or descending. Filters at the top of the list enable you to view content by item type.

From the Explore page you can:

If you have permission to view comments or assessments on an item, the feedback activity icon appears beside items when there is comment and assessment activity.

Invites

Invites enable you to promote the content you're sharing with specific people. When you share an item with others, you also have the option to send an invite to those you're sharing your item with from the Sharing Settings dialog. See Sending invites for more information.

An invite contains information about who shared the item, when it was shared, what type of item it is, and any description or tags that were added to it. The sender might also include a message letting you know why they shared the item.

When you receive an invite from another user to view an item in their ePortfolio, a notification appears in the Messages alert on the minibar and the invite displays in the Unread Invites area of your dashboard. You might also receive an email informing you of the invite. You can subscribe to the Invite RSS feed to receive external updates about new invites.

Subscriptions

Subscriptions enable you to follow activity on items or from specific people that interest you. You can subscribe to user or item activity from your dashboard, the Explore page, or your invites.

Subscribe to an item by clicking Subscribe in the context menu of the item.

Subscribe to other users by toggling the ep_unsubscribed.png Subscribe icon beside their names.

Use the Subscriptions filter on your dashboard to view activity on items or from users you subscribed to. Recent subscription activity also appears in your minibar alerts.

Unsubscribe to items or users by toggling the Unsubscribe icon or click Unsubscribe.

Friends list

The Friends list filter on the dashboard enables you to view content shared with you or publically from friends in your pager list.

Minibar alerts

Alerts on the minibar signal new activity related to your subscriptions and invites.

Email and SMS notifications

If you want to receive ePortfolio updates externally, use the Notifications tool located in your personal menu on the minibar to set up the following instant notifications:

See also

 

Desire2Learn Help | About ePortfolio