

Board of Trustees Community College District 535

Minutes of the November 14, 2023 Decennial Committee Meeting

A Decennial Committee meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District 535 was conducted on Tuesday, November 14, 2023 in Room 1506 at the Des Plaines campus of Oakton College, 1600 East Golf Road, Des Plaines, Illinois.

Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Yanow called the meeting to order at 6:08 p.m. Trustee Bush called the roll:

Dr. Wendy Yanow	Chair	Present
Dr. Gail Bush	Vice Chair	Present
Mr. William Stafford	Secretary	Present
Ms. Theresa Bashiri-Remetio		Present
Ms. Martha Burns		Absent
Mr. Benjamin Salzberg		Present
Ms. Marie Toussaint		Present
Ms. Lydia Cruz	Student Trustee	Present
Mr. Puamuh Ghogomu	Committee Member	Present
Ms. Patricia Harada	Committee Member	Present

Also present in room 1506 at the Des Plaines campus, 1600 E. Golf Road:

<u>College Leadership</u>: Dr. Joianne Smith, President; Dr. Kelly Becker, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning; Dr. Karl Brooks, CSSO/Vice President for Student Affairs; Dr. Ileo Lott, Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs; Dr. Judy Mitchell, Interim CFO/Vice President for Administrative Affairs; D. Arnie Oudenhoven, Interim CHRO; and Katherine Sawyer, Chief Advancement Officer.

<u>Administrators</u>: Marc Battista, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Dean of Curriculum and Instruction; Steve Butera, Director of Communications and External Relations; Dr. Jesse Ivory, Assistant Vice President of Workforce Innovation and College Partnerships; Dr. Andrea Lehmacher, Director of Marketing; Andy Williams, Controller.

Faculty: Spencer Kimura, Fire Science; Dr. Katherine Schuster, Education.

<u>Staff</u>: Philip Cronin, Media Services; Ernest Gest, Facilities; Jeffrey Gossrow, Budget and Accounting; Leah Kintner, Workforce Development; Ewa Lyczewska, Marketing and Communications; Beatriz Sparks, President's Office; Rebecca Wojcicki, Enrollment Services.

Other: Dr. Trudy Bers, guest.

Pledge of Allegiance – Chair Yanow led the pledge.

Approval of Minutes

Chair Yanow asked for a motion for the approval of the minutes of the June 27, 2023 Decennial Committee meeting. Trustee Bush made the motion which was seconded by Trustee Salzberg. A voice vote was called and the minutes were unanimously approved.

Public Comments - None

Discussion

The Illinois Public Act 102-1088 requires all local units of government that levy a tax, except municipalities and counties, to convene a Decennial Committee on Local Government Efficiency to study local efficiencies and report

recommendations regarding efficiencies and increased accountability. The Decennial Committee must meet 3 times within 18 months, and must submit a summary report to the County Board.

At its initial meeting on June 27, the committee agreed that the focus of the study will be Intergovernmental Partnerships.

Objectives:

- Document all active intergovernmental agreements.
- Identify agreements requiring updates/revision.
- Establish timeline for implementation of recommended revisions.

Adjournment

At 6:27 p.m., Chair Yanow asked for a motion for an adjournment. Trustee Stafford made the motion, seconded by Trustee Bashiri-Remetio. Trustee Stafford made the roll call, and the motion passed unanimously.

13 yana

Wendy B. Yanow, Chair

William Stafford, Secretary

Minutes recorded by: Beatriz Sparks 11/2023