Cannabis Dispensary License Workshops

Illinois cannabis dispensary license applicants and prospective applicants are invited to attend free workshops at Oakton Community College — to help them navigate the state’s licensing process and move closer to beginning careers in the emerging cannabis industry.

Sessions will be held in open-forum format, small group settings and as one-on-one consultations. Applicants from throughout the state can participate via video conferencing. Overview sessions are focused on serving Social Equity Applicants, but are open to all who have applied or are interested in applying for licenses. Small group workshops and one-one consulting are only for those who qualify as social equity applicants.

Workshop topics include legal and compliance training on state and local regulations including zoning and reporting, cannabis industry best practices, developing a business plan and other services needed to operate a cannabis business. Oakton’s medical cannabis program faculty and members of the Cannabis Business Association of Illinois will lead the sessions.

Early Fall

  • Dispensary License Overview Session
    Saturday, Sept. 26, 9 - 10:30 a.m.
  • One-on-One Consulting
    Wednesday, Sept. 30, 6 - 9 p.m.
  • Small Group Session (Business Plan)
    Thursday, Oct. 1, 1 - 3 p.m.
  • Dispensary License Overview Session
    Tuesday, Oct. 6, 7 - 8:30 p.m.
  • Small Group Session (Operating Agreements)
    Thursday, Oct. 8, 2 - 4 p.m.
  • Small Group Session (Dispensary Law)
    Saturday, Oct. 10, 9 a.m. - 11 a.m.

Late Fall

  • Dispensary License Overview Session
    Saturday, Nov. 21, 9 - 10:30 a.m.
  • One-on-One Consulting
    Tuesday, Nov. 24, 6 - 9 p.m.
  • Small Group Session (Business Plan)
    Wednesday Nov. 25, 1 - 3 p.m.
  • Dispensary License Overview Session
    Tuesday, Dec. 1, 7 - 8:30 p.m.
  • One-on-One Consulting
    Thursday, Dec. 3, 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.
  • Small Group Session (Special Topic)
    Saturday, Dec. 5, 2 - 4 p.m.

Register now.

For more information, email cannabisprograms@oakton.edu.

Event Details

Sept. 26 through Dec. 5


Remote, Off Campus