Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Biology Faculty

Biology Faculty

Ruth Williams, Chair
Professor of Biology
B.S. University of Wisconsin at Stevens Point
M.S. University of Wisconsin at Madison 
rwilliam@oakton.edu
847.376.7086
Office: 113 LEE, Des Plaines

Susan Anderson
Professor of Biology 
B.S. University of Illinois
M.S. University of Illinois
anderson@oakton.edu
847.635.1877
Office: - 304 LEE, Des Plaines

Maureen Carney
Professor of Biology
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.S. Northwestern University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University 
munchies@oakton.edu
847.635.1925
Office: 138 LEE, Des Plaines

Thomas Firak
Professor of Biology 
B.S. University of Illinois
Ph.D. University of Illinois 
firak@oakton.edu
847.376.7045
Office: 305 LEE, Des Plaines

Paul Gulezian
Assistant Professor of Biology
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
pgulezia@oakton.edu
847.396.7120
Office: 301 LEE, Des Plaines

Nizar Handzic
Associate Professor of Biology 
B.S. Northeastern Illinois University
Ph.D. Michigan State University
nhandzic@oakton.edu
847.376.7210
Office: - 307 LEE, Des Plaines

Cecelia Hutchcraft
Professor of Biology
B.S. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. University of Notre Dame
chutch@oakton.edu
847.376.7087
Office: 306 LEE, Des Plaines
www.oakton.edu/user/%7echutch/

Kanchana Mendes
Professor of Biology 
M.M.S. Birla Institute of Technology & Science, India
M.S. Birla Institute of Technology & Science, India
Ph.D. Oklahoma State University
kmendes@oakton.edu
847.376.7184
Office: - 2811, Des Plaines

Kalpa Patel
Associate Professor of Biology
Ph.D. Rush Univeristy, Biochemistry 
kppatel@oakton.edu
847.376.7114
Office: 301 LEE, Des Plaines

Nicole Perry
Associate Professor of Biology 
B.S. University of Wisconsin
Ph.D. Northwestern University
nperry@oakton.edu
847.376.7687
Office: B224, Skokie

Kritika Pershad
Assistant Professor of Biology 
B.S. Osmania University, India
M.S. Osmania University, India
PhD University of Illinois at Chicago
kpershad@oakton.edu
847.376.7074
Office: - 302 LEE, Des Plaines

William Strond
Professor of Biology 
B.A. Wilmington College
M.A. University of Nebraska at Omaha 
bstrond@oakton.edu
847.376.7133
Office: 303 LEE, Des Plaines

Carol Ward
Professor of Biology
B.S. George Mason University
Ph.D. University of Florida - Gainesville
cward@oakton.edu
847.376.7039
Office: 306 LEE, Des Plaines
www.oakton.edu/user/%7ecward/

Kristi Zenchak
Professor of Biology
B.S. North Central College
M.S., Loyola University - Chicago
kzenchack@oakton.edu
847-635-1615
Office:  304 LEE, Des Plaines

Suzanne Ziegenhorn
Assistant Professor of Biology 
B.S. Bradley University
M.S. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
sziegenh@oakton.edu
847.376.7361
Office: - 303 LEE, Des Plaines

 

Alumni Profile

preview image
After dropping out of Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Nick Frankel embarked on a soul-searching journey.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


August 17
Faculty return for fall 2015 semester.

August 21
Second summer interim classes end.

August 24
Fall 2015 semester classes begin.

August 25
Second summer interim faculty grading due.

August 31
Last day to submit proof of residency, business service agreements and chargebacks/joint agreements.

September 7
Labor Day holiday. College closed.

September 20
Last day to withdraw from 16-week courses and have course dropped from record.

September 21
Last day to change to audit for 16-week courses.

October 4
Incomplete (I) grades from summer 2015 semester for which faculty have not submitted final grades will become an "F" after this date.

October 9
Last day for filing Graduation Petitions.


Full Academic Calendar