Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Biology Faculty

Biology Faculty

Nicole Perry, Chair
Professor of Biology
B.S. University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph. D. Northwestern University 
nperry@oakton.edu
847.376.7086
Offices
Room 113, Lee Center, Des Plaines
Room B224, Skokie

Susan Anderson
Professor of Biology 
B.S. University of Illinois
M.S. University of Illinois
anderson@oakton.edu
847.635.1877
Office: Room 304, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Maureen Carney
Professor of Biology
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.S. Northwestern University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University 
munchies@oakton.edu
847.635.1925
Office: Room 138, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Thomas Firak
Professor of Biology 
B.S. University of Illinois
Ph.D. University of Illinois 
firak@oakton.edu
847.376.7045
Office: Room 305, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Paul Gulezian
Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A. Dartmouth College
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
pgulezia@oakton.edu
847.396.7120
Office: Room 301, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Nizar Handzic
Associate Professor of Biology 
B.S. Northeastern Illinois University
Ph.D. Michigan State University
nhandzic@oakton.edu
847.376.7210
Office: Room 307, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Kanchana Mendes
Professor of Biology 
M.M.S. Birla Institute of Technology & Science, India
M.S. Birla Institute of Technology & Science, India
Ph.D. Oklahoma State University
kmendes@oakton.edu
847.376.7184
Office: Room 2811, Des Plaines

Kalpa Patel
Associate Professor of Biology
B.S. Nagpur University, India
M.S. Nagpur University, India
Ph.D. Rush University, Biochemistry 
kppatel@oakton.edu
847.376.7114
Office: Room 301, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Kritika Pershad
Assistant Professor of Biology 
B.S. Osmania University, India
M.S. Osmania University, India
PhD University of Illinois at Chicago
kpershad@oakton.edu
847.376.7074
Office: Room 306, Lee Center, Des Plaines

William Strond
Professor of Biology 
B.A. Wilmington College
M.A. University of Nebraska at Omaha 
bstrond@oakton.edu
847.376.7133
Office: Room 303, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Kristi Zenchak
Professor of Biology
B.S. North Central College
M.S., Loyola University - Chicago
zenchak@oakton.edu
847-635-1615
Office: Room 304, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Suzanne Ziegenhorn
Assistant Professor of Biology 
B.S. Bradley University
M.S. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
sziegenh@oakton.edu
847.376.7361
Office: Room 306, Lee Center, Des Plaines

 

Alumni Profile

preview image
Oakton holds a special place for John Nebl, a police officer who took classes at the College during the 1980s. Not only did he find his vocation, he also found his wife.

IMPORTANT DATES

April 6
Registration opens for fall 2016 semester.

May 12, 13
Evaluation Days.

May 13
Last day of student attendance.

May 16
First summer 2016 interim classes begin.

May 16
Grading Day
Faculty on campus and available to students at designated times.

May 17
Faculty grading due.

May 17
Commencement.

May 30
Memorial Day holiday, College closed.

June 6
Summer 2016 eight-week session classes begin.

 Full Academic Calendar