Biology Faculty

Nicole Perry, Chair
Professor of Biology
B.S. University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph. D. Northwestern University 
nperry@oakton.edu
847.376.7086
Offices
Room 113, Lee Center, Des Plaines
Room B224, Skokie

Nizar Handzic, Coordinator, A&P
Associate Professor of Biology 
B.S. Northeastern Illinois University
Ph.D. Michigan State University
nhandzic@oakton.edu
847.376.7210
Office: Room 307, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Susan Anderson
Professor of Biology 
B.S. University of Illinois
M.S. University of Illinois
anderson@oakton.edu
847.635.1877
Office: Room 304, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Maureen Carney
Professor of Biology
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.S. Northwestern University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University 
munchies@oakton.edu
847.635.1925
Office: Room 138, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Paul Gulezian
Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A. Dartmouth College
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
pgulezia@oakton.edu
847.396.7120
Office: Room 301, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Stephanie Levi Blumer
Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A. Kenyon College
Ph.D. University of Chicago
sblumer@oakton.edu
847.376.7424
Office: Room 303, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Harper Mazock
Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A. Ball State University
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
hmazock@oakton.edu
847.376.7045
Office: Room 305, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Kanchana Mendes
Professor of Biology 
M.M.S. Birla Institute of Technology & Science, India
M.S. Birla Institute of Technology & Science, India
Ph.D. Oklahoma State University
kmendes@oakton.edu
847.376.7184
Office: Room 302, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Kalpa Patel
Associate Professor of Biology
B.S. Nagpur University, India
M.S. Nagpur University, India
Ph.D. Rush University, Biochemistry 
kppatel@oakton.edu
847.376.7114
Office: Room 301, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Kritika Pershad
Assistant Professor of Biology 
B.S. Osmania University, India
M.S. Osmania University, India
PhD University of Illinois at Chicago
kpershad@oakton.edu
847.376.7074
Office: Room 306, Lee Center, Des Plaines

William Strond
Professor of Biology 
B.A. Wilmington College
M.A. University of Nebraska at Omaha 
bstrond@oakton.edu
847.376.7133
Office: Room 303, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Kristi Zenchak
Professor of Biology
B.S. North Central College
M.S., Loyola University - Chicago
zenchak@oakton.edu
847.635.1615
Office: Room 304, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Suzanne Ziegenhorn
Assistant Professor of Biology 
B.S. Bradley University
M.S. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
sziegenh@oakton.edu
847.376.7361
Office: Room 306, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Meet our part time faculty:

David Arieti
Lecturer
B.A. University of Denver
M.S. Long Island University
darieti@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

William Avgerin
Lecturer
B.S. Quincy College
M.S. Loyola University
wavgerin@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
847.635.1910
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Arti Ayachit
Lecturer
M.S. Institute of Science, Nugpur
aayachit@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Linnea Boyev
Lecturer
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
lboyev@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Dmitriy Brener
Lecturer
M.A. Oakland University
dbrener@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Riin100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Andres Campos
Lecturer
B.S. Universidad Nacional Autonoma deMexico
M.S. Universidad Nacional Autonoma deMexico
Ph.D. Universidad Nacional Autonoma deMexico
acampos@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Jonathan Chong
Lecturer
Ph.D. North Texas State University
jchong@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

May Coulson
Lecturer
M.S. Northeastern Illinois University
mcoulson@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Offices: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Monte Dobzyn
Lecturer
B.S. Loyola University
MS Northeastern ILL University
mdobzyn@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Urbi Ghosh
Lecturer
M.B.A. Colorado State University
Ph.D. Colorado State University
ughosh@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Avis Gibons
Lecturer
B.A. Northwestern University
M.S. University of California, Irvine
agibons@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Inna Goldenberg
Lecturer
M.A. DePaul University
igoldenb@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Jason Gomez
Lecturer
Ph.D. Avalon Univ School of Medicine
jagomez@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Paul Gross
Lecturer
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
pgross@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Michelle Groves
Lecturer
M.A. Roosevelt Univ
mgroves@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Khursheed Ichhaporia
Lecturer
M.B.A. University of Rochester
M.S. University of Southern Mississippi
kichhapo@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Morfenia Joseph
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.S. Northeastern Illinois University
mjoseph@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Ali Khan
Lecturer
M.B.B.S. Doctor of Medicine
M. S. Ramaiah Medical College, Bangalore, India
akhan@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Imran Khan
Lecturer
Ph.D., M.D.
Bachelor of Medicine
Bachelor of Surgery
ikhan@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Tess Lesniak
Lecturer
B.S. DePaul University
M.S. Northeastern Illinois University
tlesniak@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Miriam Lythberg
Lecturer
B.A. Augustana College
M.S. University of Bridgeport
mlythber@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Dennis Malek
Lecturer
M.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
dmalek@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Ragy Mikhaeel
Lecturer
M.P.S. Cornell University
rmikhaee@oakton.edu847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Joydeep Mitra
Lecturer
M.S. Albert Einstein College of Medicine - Yeshiva University
Ph.D. Albert Einstein College of Medicine - Yeshiva University
jmitra@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Jacob Nieva
Lecturer
Ph.D. University of Santo Tomas
jnieva@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Jude Nwosu
Lecturer
B.S. Washington State University
B.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.S. University of Montana
Ph.D. Doctor of Medicine - Universidad Eugenio Maria De Hostos
jnwosu@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Mary Obernesser
Lecturer
B.S. Saint Mary's College, Notre Dame, IN
M.S. DePaul University
mobernes@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Juan Ojeda
Lecturer
Ph.D. Medicine - Instituto Superior de Ciencias Medicas de La Habana
jojeda@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Rajini Parakati
Lecturer
B.S. Osmania University
M.S. University of Madras
Ph.D. University of Madras
parakati@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Elaine Phillips
Lecturer
M.S. Northeastern Illinois University
phillips@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Nazia Sadat
Lecturer
B.S. Benedictine University
M.S. Benedictine University
nsadat@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Jennifer Schwall
Lecturer
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
jschwall@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Krzysztof Slowikowski
Lecturer
Ph.D. Medical Academy - Bialystok, Poland
kslowiko@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Jack Taha
Lecturer
Ph.D. Medicine - Medical Univ Bialystok, Poland
jtaha@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Sundeep Talwar
Lecturer
M.S. University of Southern California
stalwar@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

James Thorson
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
jthorson@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Jeffrey Weiss
Lecturer
A.B. Washington University
M.S. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
jweiss@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Patrick Williams
Lecturer
Ph.D. Midwestern University
pawillia@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines

Samantha Wisniewski
Lecturer
Ph.D. National University of Health Sciences
swisniew@oakton.edu
847.635.1684
Office: Room 100, Lee Center, Des Plaines