Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
English Faculty

English Faculty

Adenekan, Olabisi
Lecturer
B.A. University of Lagos, Nigeria
M.A. University of Lagos, Nigeria
M.Ed. Roosevelt University
adenekan@oakton.edu

Albano, Deborah
Professor of English
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. University of Arizona
dalbano@oakton.edu
847.635.1465
Office: B216, Skokie

Aquiline, Danielle
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of Tennessee, Martin
M.F.A. Columbia College
aquiline@oakton.edu
847.376.7093
Office: 2542, Des Plaines

Arko, Sonya
Lecturer
B.A. University of Iowa
M.A. Northwestern University
sarko@oakton.edu

Bankovic, Jelena
Professor of English
B.A. University of Belgrade
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
bankovic@oakton.edu
847.376.7058
Office: 2805, Des Plaines

Barron, Elana
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. National Louis University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
ebarron@oakton.edu

Bassett, Elizabeth
Lecturer
B.A. Bennington College
M.A. Northeastern University
ebassett@oakton.edu

Berendsen, Linda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Pittsburgh
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Roosevelt University
lberends@oakton.edu

Bishop, John
Lecturer
B.A. Washington University, St. Louis
M.A. University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Ph.D. Northwestern University
jcbishop@oakton.edu

Blumenthal, Amy
Professor of English
Coordinator, English as a Second Language (ESL)
B.A. University of Michigan
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
amyblu@oakton.edu
847.635.1821
Office: 2711, Des Plaines

Bolf, Steven
Lecturer
A.A. Elgin Community College
B.S. Illinois State University
M.A. Northwestern University
sbolf@oakton.edu

Boulavina, Svetlana
Lectuer
B.A. Lviv State University, Ukraine
M.A. Lviv State University, Ukraine
sboulavi@oakton.edu

Braud, Donovan
Assicate Professor of English
Coordinator, Great Books
B.A. Loyola University, New Orleans
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
dbraud@oakton.edu
847.376.7026
Office: 2520, Des Plaines

Brotherton, Lina
Lecturer
B.A. Concordia University, Montreal, Canada
M.Ed. McGill University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
linab@oakton.edu

Buksa, Katarzyna
Lecturer
B.A. Southern Illinois University
M.A. Southern Illinois University
kbuksa@oakton.edu

Bustamante, Carol
Professor of English
Coordinator, Developmental English
B.S. Bradley University
M.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
cbustama@oakton.edu
847.376.7097
Office: 2554, Des Plaines

Cardenas, Deyanira
Lecturer
B.S. North Park University
M.A. North Park Unitersity
dcardena@oakton.edu

Cantor, Evan
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.Ed. Loyola University, Chicago
ecantor@oakton.edu

Carney, Maureen
Professor of Biology
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.S. Northwestern University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
munchies@oakton.edu
847.635.1925
Office: 2716, Des Plaines

Christian, Kathleen
Lecturer
B.S. Loyola University, Chicago
M.S.Ed. Loyola University, Chicago
kvc@oakton.edu

Clouse, Laura
Lecturer
B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. DePaul University
lclouse@oakton.edu

Cohen, Barbara
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
bcohen@oakton.edu

Collins, Virginia
Lecturer
B.A. St. Mary’s College
M.A. Northeastern University
vcollins@oakton.edu

Connelly, Maureen
Lecturer
B.A. California State University, Sacramento
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
connelly@oakton.edu

Crawford, Will
Professor of English
Coordinator, Literature
B.A. Jackson State University
M.A. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
crawford@oakton.edu
847.376.7137
Office: 3618, Des Plaines

Crockett, Beverly
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Kentucky University
bcrocket@oakton.edu

Cuomo-Paul, Anna
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
acuomo@oakton.edu
847.376.7060
Office: 2725, Des Plaines

Dadivas-Hong, Jennifer
Lecturer
Coordinator, WSAT
B.S. DePaul University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
jdadivas@oakton.edu

Davros, Michael
Lecturer
B.A. Tulane University
M.A. Louisiana State University
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
mdavros@oakton.edu

Dentamaro, Christine
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
cdentama@oakton.edu

Deshmukh, Madhuri
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu
847.376.7032
Office: 2807, Des Plaines

Fox, Carol
Lecturer
B.A. Dominican University
M.A. Creighton University
cfox@oakton.edu

Ghadiri, Jean
Lecturer
B.M. University of Wisconsin, Madison
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
jghadiri@oakton.edu

Gibbons, Virginia
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
vgibbons@oakton.edu
847.376.7035
Office: 3604, Des Plaines

Godston, Daniel
Lecturer
B.A. University of Michigan
M.F.A. Mills College
dgodston@oakton.edu

Herrera, Gerardo
Lecturer
B.S. University of Central Oklahoma
M.F.A. Regent University
gherrera@oakton.edu

Hamlin, Amanda
Lecturer
B.A. Carnegie Mellon University
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
ahamlin@oakton.edu

Hillsberg, Carol
Lecturer
B.A. University of Pennsylvania
M.A.T. National Louis University
chillsbe@oakton.edu

Iordanova, Iordana
Lecturer
DIP. Higher Ed., Sofia University, Bulgaria
Ph.D. Sofia University, Bulgaria
M.M. Kellogg School of Management
iiordano@oakton.edu

Johnson, Scott
Professor of English
Coordinator, Technical Communications
B.A. Furman University
M.A. University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Ph.D. (ABD) University of Tennessee, Knoxville
sjohnson@oakton.edu
847.376.7286
Office: 2706, Des Plaines

Kaftanska, Hanna
Lecturer
M.A. Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
hkaftans@oakton.edu

Karlen, Linda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
M.A. University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
lkarlen@oakton.edu

Kazi, Kathleen
Lecturer
B.S. Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
M.A. Eastern Michigan University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.Ed. Benedictine University
kkazi@oakton.edu

Kelley, Frank
Lecturer
B.A. Duke University
M.A. University of South Carolina
fkelley@oakton.edu

Kelly, David
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.F.A. University of Iowa
dkelly@oakton.edu

Kelly, Margaret
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. Northern Illinois University
pkelly@oakton.edu

Kossy, David
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
dkossy@oakton.edu

Lazarus, Lewis
Lecturer
B.S. Illinois Institute of Technology
M.A. University of Chicago
llazarus@oakton.edu

Lucas, Jane
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.S. University of Illinois, Champaign
jalucas@oakton.edu

Mauritzen, Michael
Lecturer
B.A. Eastern Illinois University
M.A. Purdue University
Ph.D. Purdue University
mmauritz@oakton.edu

McKeag, Cynthia
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
M.A. University of Wisconsin, Madison
M.A. University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
cmckeagt@oakton.edu

McNamara, Stephen
Lecturer
B.A. Washington University, St. Louis
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
smcnamar@oakton.edu

McNett, Michael
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. Northwestern University
mmcnett@oakton.edu

Mix, Brent
Lecturer
B.A. Boston University
M.Ed. Boston College, Lynch School of Education
M.A. Northwestern University
bmix@oakton.edu

Namikawa, Shuko
Lecturer
A.A. Hokusei Women’s Jr. College, Japan
B.A. Coe College
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
shuko@oakton.edu

Nogowski, Janet
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
jann@oakton.edu

Novich, Colette
Lecturer
B.S. Duquesne University
M.S. Chicago State University
cnovich@oakton.edu

Noznick, Pauline
Lecturer
B.A. Connecticut College
M.A.T. Simmons College
pnoznick@oakton.edu

Ogrodowski, Brian
Lecturer
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
bogrodow@oakton.edu

Ogunbodede, Caroline
Lecturer
B.S. Alabama A & M University
M.S. Alabama A & M University
M.S. Northern Illinois University
Ed.D. Argosy University
cogunbod@oakton.edu

Olsen, Jean
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
jolsen@oakton.edu

Olszewska, Daniela
Lecturer
B.A. Columbia College, Chicago
M.F.A. University of Alabama
dolszews@oakton.edu

Oster, Lori
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.Ed. Benedictine University
loster@oakton.edu
847.376.7022
Office: 2452, Des Plaines

O’Sullivan, Teresa
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
tosulliv@oakton.edu

Page, Joseph
Lecturer
B.A. Ripon College
M.A. University of Chicago
jpage@oakton.edu

Poloniak, Darlene
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.Ed. University of Illinois, Champaign
poloniak@oakton.edu

Pols, Donna
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
dpols@oakton.edu

Rosati, Evanthia
Lecturer
B.A. College of St. Francis
M.A. Western Illinois University
erosati@oakton.edu

Roth, Daniel
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of California, Santa Cruz
M.A. university of California, Santa Cruz
droth@oakton.edu
847.376.7013
Office: 2739, Des plaines

Salas, Jill
Lecturer
B.A. Governors State University
M.A. Governors State University
jsalas@oakton.edu

Salmasi, Soraya
Lecturer
B.A. Tehran University, Iran
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
ssalmasi@oakton.edu

Sanfilip, Thomas
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.F.A. Goddard College
sanfilip@oakton.edu

Schwarzkopf, Jennifer
Lecturer
B.A. Wellesley College
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
jschwarz@oakton.edu

Sellountos, Jessica Demetra
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
Ph.D. Emory University
jselloun@oakton.edu

Serb, Robert
Lecturer
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. DePaul University
rserb@oakton.edu

Sewall, Steve
Lecturer
B.A. Harvard University
M.A. Yale University
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
ssewall@oakton.edu

Slade, Tami
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin, Madison
M.S. University of Wisconsin, Madison
MBA George Washington University
tslade@oakton.edu

Sloan, Philip
Associate Professor of English
B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. Carleton University
M.A.T. Wayne State University
psloan@oakton.edu
847.376.7105
Office: 2739, Des Plaines

Staats, Marian
Professor of English
B.A. Swarthmore College
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
mstaats@oakton.edu
847.376.7103
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Stoicheva, Miloslava
Lecturer
B.A. Veliko-Turnovo University, Bulgaria
M.S. Indiana University
mstoiche@oakton.edu

Stovall, John
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Doctor of Arts Illinois State University
jstovall@oakton.edu

Swanson, Christine
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.A. Northeastern University
chswanso@oakton.edu

Ullrich-Ferguson, Loretta
Lecturer
B.A. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
M.A. Eastern Illinois University
lullrich@oakton.edu

Volner, Glenda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
gvolner@oakton.edu

Wallace, Gabriel
Professor of English
B.A. Cornell College
M.A. University of Colorado
gabew@oakton.edu
847.376.7053
Office: 2748, Des Plaines

Woodbury, Lynn
Professor of English
Chair, English Department
B.A. San Jose State University
M.A. University of California, Santa Cruz
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Cruz
woodbury@oakton.edu
847.635.1953
Office: 2522, Des Plaines


Faculty Profile

preview image
There’s a reason Larry Marks captured the 2009 Ray Hartstein Award for Outstanding Professional Excellence in Teaching.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


October 5
Incomplete (I) grades from summer 2014 semester for which faculty have not submitted final grades will become an "F" after this date.

October 10
Last day for filing Graduation Petitions.

October 26
Last day to withdraw with a "W" from 16-week courses; Students will receive a grade in all courses in which they are enrolled after October 26.

November 11
Veterans Day holiday. College closed.

November 19
Registration opens for spring 2015 semester.

November 27, 28
Thanksgiving recess. College closed.

November 29, 30
Thanksgiving recess. No classes; College open.

December 16, 17
Evaluation Days.

December 17
Last day of student attendance.

December 18
Grading Day. Faculty on campus and available to students at designated times.

Full Academic Calendar