Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
English Faculty

English Faculty

Adenekan, Olabisi
Lecturer
B.A. University of Lagos, Nigeria
M.A. University of Lagos, Nigeria
M.Ed. Roosevelt University
adenekan@oakton.edu

Aquiline, Danielle
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of Tennessee, Martin
M.F.A. Columbia College
aquiline@oakton.edu
847.376.7093
Office: 2542, Des Plaines

Bankovic, Jelena
Professor of English
B.A. University of Belgrade
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
bankovic@oakton.edu
847.376.7058
Office: 2805, Des Plaines

Barron, Elana
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. National Louis University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
ebarron@oakton.edu

Berendsen, Linda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Pittsburgh
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Roosevelt University
lberends@oakton.edu

Bishop, John
Lecturer
B.A. Washington University, St. Louis
M.A. University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Ph.D. Northwestern University
jcbishop@oakton.edu

Blumenthal, Amy
Professor of English
Coordinator, English as a Second Language (ESL)
B.A. University of Michigan
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
amyblu@oakton.edu
847.635.1821
Office: 2711, Des Plaines

Bolf, Steven
Lecturer
A.A. Elgin Community College
B.S. Illinois State University
M.A. Northwestern University
sbolf@oakton.edu

Boulavina, Svetlana
Lectuer
B.A. Lviv State University, Ukraine
M.A. Lviv State University, Ukraine
sboulavi@oakton.edu

Braud, Donovan
Associate Professor of English
Coordinator, Great Books
B.A. Loyola University, New Orleans
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
dbraud@oakton.edu
847.376.7026
Office: 2520, Des Plaines

Brotherton, Lina
Lecturer
B.A. Concordia University, Montreal, Canada
M.Ed. McGill University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
linab@oakton.edu

Buksa, Katarzyna
Lecturer
B.A. Southern Illinois University
M.A. Southern Illinois University
kbuksa@oakton.edu

Bustamante, Carol
Professor of English
Coordinator, Developmental English
B.S. Bradley University
M.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
cbustama@oakton.edu
847.376.7097
Office: 2554, Des Plaines

Cameron, Stacy
Assistant Professor
B.S. Northern Illinois University
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Cardenas, Deyanira
Lecturer
B.S. North Park University
M.A. North Park Unitersity
dcardena@oakton.edu

Cantor, Evan
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.Ed. Loyola University, Chicago
ecantor@oakton.edu

Carney, Maureen
Professor of Biology
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.S. Northwestern University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
munchies@oakton.edu
847.635.1925
Office: 2716, Des Plaines

Cohen, Barbara
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
bcohen@oakton.edu

Crawford, Will
Professor of English
Coordinator, Creative Writing and Literature
B.A. Jackson State University
M.A. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
crawford@oakton.edu
847.376.7137
Office: 3618, Des Plaines

Crockett, Beverly
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Kentucky University
bcrocket@oakton.edu

Cuomo-Paul, Anna
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
acuomo@oakton.edu
847.376.7060
Office: 2725, Des Plaines

Dadivas-Hong, Jennifer
Lecturer
Coordinator, WSAT
B.S. DePaul University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
jdadivas@oakton.edu

Davros, Michael
Lecturer
B.A. Tulane University
M.A. Louisiana State University
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
mdavros@oakton.edu

Dentamaro, Christine
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
cdentama@oakton.edu

Deshmukh, Madhuri
Professor of English
Coordinator, Peace and Social Justice
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu
847.376.7032
Office: 2731, Des Plaines

Fox, Carol
Lecturer
B.A. Dominican University
M.A. Creighton University
cfox@oakton.edu

Gibbons, Virginia
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
vgibbons@oakton.edu
847.376.7035
Office: 3604, Des Plaines

Godston, Daniel
Lecturer
B.A. University of Michigan
M.F.A. Mills College
dgodston@oakton.edu

Herrera, Gerardo
Lecturer
B.S. University of Central Oklahoma
M.F.A. Regent University
gherrera@oakton.edu

Hamlin, Amanda
Lecturer
B.A. Carnegie Mellon University
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
ahamlin@oakton.edu

Iordanova, Iordana
Lecturer
DIP. Higher Ed., Sofia University, Bulgaria
Ph.D. Sofia University, Bulgaria
M.M. Kellogg School of Management
iiordano@oakton.edu

Johnson, Scott
Professor of English
Coordinator, Technical Communications
B.A. Furman University
M.A. University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Ph.D. (ABD) University of Tennessee, Knoxville
sjohnson@oakton.edu
847.376.7286
Office: 2706, Des Plaines

Kaftanska, Hanna
Lecturer
M.A. Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
hkaftans@oakton.edu

Karlen, Linda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
M.A. University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
lkarlen@oakton.edu

Kelley, Frank
Lecturer
B.A. Duke University
M.A. University of South Carolina
fkelley@oakton.edu

Kelly, David
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.F.A. University of Iowa
dkelly@oakton.edu

Kossy, David
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
dkossy@oakton.edu

Lazarus, Lewis
Lecturer
B.S. Illinois Institute of Technology
M.A. University of Chicago
llazarus@oakton.edu

Long, Daryl
Assistant Professor of English
A.A. Waubonsee Community College
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Phoenix
@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Magnuson, Kate
Lecturer
B.A. Augustana University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
magnuson@oakton.edu

Mauritzen, Michael
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. Eastern Illinois University
M.A. Purdue University
Ph.D. Purdue University
mmauritz@oakton.edu
847.376.7292
Office: 2753, Des Plaines

McKeag, Cynthia
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
M.A. University of Wisconsin, Madison
M.A. University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
cmckeagt@oakton.edu

McNamara, Stephen
Lecturer
B.A. Washington University, St. Louis
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
smcnamar@oakton.edu

McNett, Michael
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. Northwestern University
mmcnett@oakton.edu

Mix, Brent
Lecturer
B.A. Boston University
M.Ed. Boston College, Lynch School of Education
M.A. Northwestern University
bmix@oakton.edu

Namikawa, Shuko
Lecturer
A.A. Hokusei Women’s Jr. College, Japan
B.A. Coe College
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
shuko@oakton.edu

Nogowski, Janet
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
jann@oakton.edu

Novich, Colette
Lecturer
B.S. Duquesne University
M.S. Chicago State University
cnovich@oakton.edu

Noznick, Pauline
Lecturer
B.A. Connecticut College
M.A.T. Simmons College
pnoznick@oakton.edu

Ogrodowski, Brian
Lecturer
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
bogrodow@oakton.edu

Ogunbodede, Caroline
Lecturer
B.S. Alabama A & M University
M.S. Alabama A & M University
M.S. Northern Illinois University
Ed.D. Argosy University
cogunbod@oakton.edu

Olsen, Jean
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
jolsen@oakton.edu

Oster, Lori
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.Ed. Benedictine University
loster@oakton.edu
847.376.7022
Office: 2452, Des Plaines

O’Sullivan, Teresa
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
tosulliv@oakton.edu

Page, Joseph
Lecturer
B.A. Ripon College
M.A. University of Chicago
jpage@oakton.edu

Rosati, Evanthia
Lecturer
B.A. College of St. Francis
M.A. Western Illinois University
erosati@oakton.edu

Roth, Daniel
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of California, Santa Cruz
M.A. university of California, Santa Cruz
droth@oakton.edu
847.376.7013
Office: 2739, Des Plaines

Salas, Jill
Lecturer
B.A. Governors State University
M.A. Governors State University
jsalas@oakton.edu

Salmasi, Soraya
Lecturer
B.A. Tehran University, Iran
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
ssalmasi@oakton.edu

Sanfilip, Thomas
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.F.A. Goddard College
sanfilip@oakton.edu

Serb, Robert
Lecturer
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. DePaul University
rserb@oakton.edu

Sloan, Philip
Associate Professor of English
B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. Carleton University
M.A.T. Wayne State University
psloan@oakton.edu
847.376.7105
Office: 2739, Des Plaines

Staats, Marian
Professor of English
B.A. Swarthmore College
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
mstaats@oakton.edu
847.376.7103
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Stoicheva, Miloslava
Lecturer
B.A. Veliko-Turnovo University, Bulgaria
M.S. Indiana University
mstoiche@oakton.edu

Stovall, John
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Doctor of Arts Illinois State University
jstovall@oakton.edu

Swanson, Christine
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.A. Northeastern University
chswanso@oakton.edu

Volner, Glenda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
gvolner@oakton.edu

Wallace, Gabriel
Professor of English
B.A. Cornell College
M.A. University of Colorado
gabew@oakton.edu
847.376.7053
Office: 2748, Des Plaines

Woodbury, Lynn
Professor of English
Chair, English Department
B.A. San Jose State University
M.A. University of California, Santa Cruz
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Cruz
woodbury@oakton.edu
847.635.1953
Office: 2522, Des Plaines


Alumni Profile

preview image
In spite of having a bachelor’s degree, Anita Taylor ’86 wasn’t sure what she wanted to do with her life. She found her niche at Oakton.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


June 8
Summer 2015 eight-week session begins.

June 8
Three-week first summer interim faculty grading due.

June 15
Summer 2015 seven-week session classes begin.

June 15
Four-week first summer interim faculty grading due.

June 18
ELast day to submit proof of residency, business service agreements and chargebacks/joint agreements.

June 25
Last day to change to Audit.

June 25
Last day to drop and have course dropped from record.

July 2
Last day for filing Graduation Petitions.

July 4
Independence Day holiday College closed.

July 6
Independence Day holiday observance, no classes. College open.

July 7
ast day to withdraw with a "W" (no withdrawals after mid-term). Students will receive a grade in all courses in which they are enrolled after July 7.

Full Academic Calendar