Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
English Faculty

English Faculty

Aquiline, Danielle
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of Tennessee, Martin
M.F.A. Columbia College
aquiline@oakton.edu
847.376.7093
Office: 2542, Des Plaines

Bankovic, Jelena
Professor of English
B.A. University of Belgrade
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
bankovic@oakton.edu
847.376.7058
Office: B218, Skokie

Barron, Elana
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. National Louis University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
ebarron@oakton.edu

Bauer, Laura
Lecturer
B.A. National Louis University
M.Ad.Ed. National Louis University
Ed.D. National Louis University
lbauer@oakton.edu

Berendsen, Linda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Pittsburgh
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Roosevelt University
lberends@oakton.edu

Bishop, John
Lecturer
B.A. Washington University, St. Louis
M.A. University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Ph.D. Northwestern University
jcbishop@oakton.edu

Blumenthal, Amy
Professor of English
Coordinator, English as a Second Language (ESL)
B.A. University of Michigan
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
amyblu@oakton.edu
847.635.1821
Office: 2711, Des Plaines

Bolf, Steven
Lecturer
A.A. Elgin Community College
B.S. Illinois State University
M.A. Northwestern University
sbolf@oakton.edu

Boulavina, Svetlana
Lectuer
B.A. Lviv State University, Ukraine
M.A. Lviv State University, Ukraine
sboulavi@oakton.edu

Braud, Donovan
Associate Professor of English
Coordinator, Great Books
B.A. Loyola University, New Orleans
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
dbraud@oakton.edu
847.376.7026
Office: 2520, Des Plaines

Brotherton, Lina
Lecturer
B.A. Concordia University, Montreal, Canada
M.Ed. McGill University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
linab@oakton.edu

Bustamante, Carol
Professor of English
B.S. Bradley University
M.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
cbustama@oakton.edu
847.376.7097
Office: 2554, Des Plaines

Cameron, Stacy
Assistant Professor of English
B.S. Northern Illinois University
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
scameron@oakton.edu
847.376.7193
Office: 2811, Des Plaines

Cantor, Evan
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.Ed. Loyola University, Chicago
ecantor@oakton.edu

Carney, Maureen
Professor of Biology
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.S. Northwestern University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
munchies@oakton.edu
847.635.1925
Office: 302, Lee Science and Health Building, Des Plaines

Cohen, Barbara
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
bcohen@oakton.edu

Crawford, Will
Professor of English
Coordinator, Creative Writing and Literature
B.A. Jackson State University
M.A. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
crawford@oakton.edu
847.376.7137
Office: 3618, Des Plaines

Crockett, Beverly
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Kentucky University
bcrocket@oakton.edu

Cuomo-Paul, Anna
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
acuomo@oakton.edu
847.376.7060
Office: 2725, Des Plaines

Dadivas-Hong, Jennifer
Lecturer
Coordinator, WSAT
B.S. DePaul University
M.A. Univeristy of Illinois, Chicago
jdadivas@oakton.edu
847.376.7150
Office: 2738, Des Plaines

Davros, Michael
Lecturer
B.A. Tulane University
M.A. Louisiana State University
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
mdavros@oakton.edu

Dentamaro, Christine
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
cdentama@oakton.edu

Deshmukh, Madhuri
Professor of English
Coordinator, Peace and Social Justice
Coordinator, Literature & Creative Writing
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu
847.376.7032
Office: 2731, Des Plaines

Fakhrid-Deen, Tina
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
M.Ed. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
M.F.A. Chicago State University
tfakhrid@oakton.edu
847.376.7230
Office: 2725, Des Plaines

Fox, Carol
Lecturer
B.A. Dominican University
M.A. Creighton University
cfox@oakton.edu

Garvey, Caitlin
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
M.F.A. Northwestern University
cgarvey@oakton.edu

Gibbons, Virginia
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
vgibbon@oakton.edu
847.376.7695
Office: B218, Skokie

Godde, Lisa
Lecturer
B.A. Rockford College
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
lgodde@oakton.edu

Godston, Daniel
Lecturer
B.A. University of Michigan
M.F.A. Mills College
dgodston@oakton.edu

Herrera, Gerardo
Lecturer
B.S. University of Central Oklahoma
M.F.A. Regent University
gherrera@oakton.edu

Hamlin, Amanda
Lecturer
B.A. Carnegie Mellon University
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
ahamlin@oakton.edu

Hymans, Don
Lecturer
B.A. Lafayette University, Pennsylvania
M.F.A. University of Iowa, Writer's Workshop
dhymans@oakton.edu

Iordanova, Iordana
Lecturer
DIP. Higher Ed., Sofia University, Bulgaria
Ph.D. Sofia University, Bulgaria
M.M. Kellogg School of Management
iiordano@oakton.edu

Jakalski, David
Lectuer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
jakalski@oakton.edu

Johnson, Scott
Professor of English
Coordinator, Business & Technical Writing
B.A. Furman University
M.A. University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Ph.D. (ABD) University of Tennessee, Knoxville
sjohnson@oakton.edu
847.376.7286
Office: 2556, Des Plaines

Kaftanska, Hanna
Lecturer
M.A. Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
hkaftans@oakton.edu

Karlen, Linda
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
M.A. University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
lkarlen@oakton.edu

Kelley, Frank
Lecturer
B.A. Duke University
M.A. University of South Carolina
fkelley@oakton.edu

Kelly, David
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.F.A. University of Iowa
dkelly@oakton.edu

Kossy, David
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
dkossy@oakton.edu

Kulefsky, Ryan
Lectuer
B.A. Columbia College
M.F.A. Bard College
kulefsky@oakton.edu

Lazarus, Lewis
Lecturer
B.S. Illinois Institute of Technology
M.A. University of Chicago
llazarus@oakton.edu

Long, Daryl Ann
Assistant Professor of English
A.A. Waubonsee Community College
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Phoenix
dlong@oakton.edu
847.376.7249
Office: 3602, Des Plaines

Magnuson, Kate
Lecturer
B.A. Augustana University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
magnuson@oakton.edu

Mauritzen, Michael
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. Eastern Illinois University
M.A. Purdue University
Ph.D. Purdue University
mmauritz@oakton.edu
847.376.7292
Office: 2753, Des Plaines

McKeag, Cynthia
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
M.A. University of Wisconsin, Madison
M.A. University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
cmckeagt@oakton.edu

McNamara, Stephen
Lecturer
B.A. Washington University, St. Louis
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
smcnamar@oakton.edu

McNett, Michael
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.A. Northwestern University
mmcnett@oakton.edu

Namikawa, Shuko
Lecturer
A.A. Hokusei Women’s Jr. College, Japan
B.A. Coe College
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
shuko@oakton.edu

Nogowski, Janet
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
jann@oakton.edu

Novich, Colette
Lecturer
B.S. Duquesne University
M.S. Chicago State University
cnovich@oakton.edu

Noznick, Pauline
Lecturer
B.A. Connecticut College
M.A.T. Simmons College
pnoznick@oakton.edu

Ogrodowski, Brian
Lecturer
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
bogrodow@oakton.edu

Ogunbodede, Caroline
Lecturer
B.S. Alabama A & M University
M.S. Alabama A & M University
M.S. Northern Illinois University
Ed.D. Argosy University
cogunbod@oakton.edu

Olsen, Jean
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
jolsen@oakton.edu

Oster, Lori
Assistant Professor of English
Coordinator, Developmental English
B.A. University of Illinois, Champaign
M.Ed. Benedictine University
loster@oakton.edu
847.376.7022
Office: 2452, Des Plaines

O’Sullivan, Teresa
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
tosulliv@oakton.edu

Page, Joseph
Lecturer
B.A. Ripon College
M.A. University of Chicago
jpage@oakton.edu

Roth, Daniel
Assistant Professor of English
B.A. University of California, Santa Cruz
M.A. university of California, Santa Cruz
droth@oakton.edu
847.376.7013
Office: 2739, Des Plaines

Salmasi, Soraya
Lecturer
B.A. Tehran University, Iran
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
ssalmasi@oakton.edu

Sanfilip, Thomas
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.F.A. Goddard College
sabfilip@oakton.edu

Serb, Robert
Lecturer
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. DePaul University
rserb@oakton.edu

Sloan, Philip
Associate Professor of English
B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. Carleton University
M.A.T. Wayne State University
Ph.D. Kent State University
psloan@oakton.edu
847.376-7105
Office: 2739, Des Plaines

Staats, Marian
Professor of English
B.A. Swarthmore College
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
mstaats@oakton.edu
847.376.7103
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Stoicheva, Miloslava
Lecturer
B.A. Veliko-Turnovo University, Bulgaria
M.S. Indiana University
mstoiche@oakton.edu

Stovall, John
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Doctor of Arts Illinois State University
jstovall@oakton.edu

Swanson, Christine
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.A. Northeastern University
chswanso@oakton.edu

Swartzlander, LuAnn
Lecturer
B.A./B.S. The Ohio State University
M.A. Wright State University
Ph.D. Loyola University, Chicago
lswartzl@oakton.edu

Trongeau, Darren
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
dtrongea@oakton.edu

Wainscott Ozer, Sara
Lecturer
B.A. St. Cloud State University
M.F.A. University of Washington
swainsco@oakton.edu

Wallace, Gabriel
Professor of English
B.A. Cornell College
M.A. University of Colorado
gabew@oakton.edu
847.376.7053
Office: 2729, Des Plaines

Woodbury, Lynn
Professor of English
Chair, English Department
B.A. San Jose State University
M.A. University of California, Santa Cruz
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Cruz
woodbury@oakton.edu
847.635.1953
Office: 2522, Des Plaines


Alumni Profile

preview image
After dropping out of Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Nick Frankel embarked on a soul-searching journey.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


April 6
Registration opens for fall 2016 semester.

May 12, 13
Evaluation Days.

May 13
Last day of student attendance.

May 16
First summer 2016 interim classes begin.

May 16
Grading Day
Faculty on campus and available to students at designated times.

May 17
Faculty grading due.

May 17
Commencement.

May 30
Memorial Day holiday, College closed.

June 6
Summer 2016 eight-week session classes begin.

Full Academic Calendar