Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Faculty

Faculty


Jennifer Strehler, Chair

Professor of Mathematics, Chair
B.S. Illinois State University
M.S. University of Tennessee
M.S. Northwestern University
strehler@oakton.edu
847.635.1974
Office: 2162, Des Plaines

Paul Boisvert
Professor of Mathematics
B.S. University of Michigan
M.S. University of Illinois at Urbana
pboisver@oakton.edu
847.635.1935
Office: 2554, Des Plaines

Jinhee Canfield
Associate Professor of Mathematics
B.S. Yonsei  University
M.Ed. Yonsei University
jcanfiel@oakton.edu
847.376.7134
Office: 2524, Des Plaines

Olga Cedrina
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
B. Ed. Latvijas Universite
M.S. Latvijas Universite
ocedrina@oakton.edu
847.376.7282
Office: 2164, Des Plaines

Michael Farquhar

Associate Professor of Mathematics
B.S.E.E. Bradley University
M.S. University of Illinois
mfarquha@oakton.edu
847.376.7085
Office: 2116, Des Plalines

Safa Hamed
Professor of Mathematics
B.S. Loyola University of Chicago
M.S. Loyola University of Chicago
shamed@oakton.edu
847.635.1898
Office: 2719, Des Plaines

Joseph J. Kotowski
Professor of Mechanical Design and Mathematics
B.S. University of Illinois
M.A. DePaul University
M.S. Northwestern University
koto@oakton.edu
847.635.1268
Office: B231, Skokie

R. Gordon McClarren
Professor of Mathematics
B.S. U.S. Naval Academy
M.S. University of Illinois
gmcclarr@oakton.edu
847.376.7082
Office: 2530, Des Plaines

Nancy Ressler
Professor of Mathematics
B.S. University of Illinois
M.Ed. University of Illinois
M.A. DePaul University
nressler@oakton.edu
847.635.1968
Office: 3602, Des Plaines

Andrew Roach
Professor of Mathematics
B.S. University of Illinois, Urbana
M.S. University of Washington, Seattle
aroach@oakton.edu
847.635.7069
Office: 2530, Des Plaines

Christopher Saunders
Associate Professor of Mathematics
B.S. Juniata College
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University
csaunder@oakton.edu
847.376.7011
Office: 2712, Des Plaines

Carole F. Shapero
Professor of Mathematics
B.Sc. McGill University
M.A. Columbia University
cshapero@oakton.edu
847.635.1459
Office: B214, Skokie

Julie Shotsberger
Professor of Mathematics
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A. Concordia University
jshotsbe@oakton.edu
847.376.7214
Office: 3610, Des Plaines

Ivan Temesvari
Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
A.A. Oakton Community College
B.S. Eastern Illinois University
M.A. Eastern Illinois University
itemesva@oakton.edu
847.376.7065
Office: 2725 Des Plaines

Dorota Zak
Associate Professor of Mathematics
B.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
dzak@oakton.edu
847.635.1961
Office: 2712, Des Plaines


Part-time Faculty

Barbara Anderson
Lecturer
B.S.  Northeastern  University
M.S. Northeastern University
M.S. Roosevelt University
banderso@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines 

Janez Arko
Lecturer
B.S. Loyola University, Chicago
M.S. Northeastern University
jarko@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines  

Thomas Blackburn
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.S. Northeastern University
tblackbu@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Jayne Blacker
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.S. DePaul University
jblacker@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: B200 Skokie

Eileen Blitz
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.S. Northeastern University
eblitz@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B200 Skokie

William Bon Durant
Lecturer
B.A. University of California, Irvine
M.A. University of California, Santa Barbara
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara
bonduran@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Olga Cedrina
Lecturer
B. Ed. Latvijas Universite
M.S. Latvijas Universite
ochernin@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Barry Dayton
Lecturer
B.A. Pomona College
A.M. University of Southern California
Ph.D. University of Southern California
barryd@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Rudy Engman
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Urbana
A.M. University of Illinois, Urbana
rengman@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Tammara Estes
Lecturer
B.S.P.H. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
M.A. East Carolina University
tlestes@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Randy Farmer
Lecturer
A.A. Oakton Community College
B.S.M.E. University of Illinois, Urbana
rfarmer@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Jerzy Filus
Lecturer
M.S. University of Michigan
Ph.D. Polish Academy of Science
jfilus@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Lidia Filus
Lecturer
M.S. University of Warsaw
Ph.D. University of Warsaw
lfilus@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Joseph Gleyzer
Lecturer
Mathematics Department Placement Coordinator
M.S.E.E. Moscow Institute of Petro Chemical & Gas Industry
M.S. Moscow State University
jgleyzer@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Phillip Gwanyama
Lecturer
DIPCEG University of Yaounde, Cameroon
M.A. University of Wisconsin, Madison
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
pgwanyam@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Anna Hammer
Lecturer
B.S. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
ahammer@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Linda Jang
Lecturer
B.A. EWHA Women's University, Korea
M.Ed. EWHA Women's University, Korea
M.Ed. National-Louis University
ljang@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Peter Kakumanu
Lecturer
B.S. C.S.R.C. College
B.Ed. Nagarjuma University
M.S. Vikram University
M.Ed. Nagarjuma University
C.A.S. University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
kspeter@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Nouel Kamber
Lecturer
B.S. Al-Mustansiriyah University, Iraq
M.S.C. Al-Mustansiriyah University, Iraq
Ph.D. Nankai University, China
nkamber@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Ray Kandelman
Lecturer
B.A. Northwestern University
M.Ed. Northeastern University
M.A. Northeastern University
rkandelm@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Mahmoud Khalili
Lecturer
B.S. Tehran University
M.S. Northeastern University
Ph.D. Illinois Institute of Technology
mkhalili@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines  

Esther Kim
Lecturer
M.D. Korea University
M.S. Chicago State University
ekim@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Sam Kleinerman
Lecturer
B.A. University of Chicago
M.S. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
skleine@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Andrei Kolas
Lecturer
B.S. Belarussian M.Tank State Pedagogical University
M.S. Belarussian M.Tank State Pedagogical University
akolas@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Joo Koo
Lecturer
B.S. Seoul National University
M.P.H. Yonsei University
M.S. Ohio University
Ph.D. The Ohio State University
jkoo@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Douglas Lewit
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.S. Northeastern University
dlewit@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180 DP

Gloria Liu
Lecturer
M.A. University of Michigan
B.A. Brandeis University
glorial@oakton.edu
847.635.1738
Office: 2166, Des Plaines

Mikhail Manilov
Lecturer
B.S. Kyiv State University, Ukraine
M.S. Kyiv State University, Ukraine
M.S. DePaul University, Chicago, Illinois
Ph. D., Hydraulic Engineering and Amelioration Scientific and Research Institute, Kyiv, Ukraine
mmanilov@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Kamilla Murashkina
Lecturer
B.S. Moscow State University
M.S. Moscow State University
M.S. Northeastern Illinois University
kmurashk@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Mehmed Orucevic
Lecturer
B.S. Sveuciliste University Zagrebu, Croatia
M.S. Sveuciliste University Zagrebu, Croatia
Ph.D. Univerzitet University, Srajevu
morucevi@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

James Papademas
Lecturer
B.A. Roosevelt University
B.S. Roosevelt University
M.B.A. Roosevelt University
M.S. Roosevelt University
jpapadem@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Katherine Papademas
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.S. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.S. Roosevelt University
J.D. John Marshall Law School
kpapadem@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Luke Papademas
Lecturer
B.S. Roosevelt University
B.S. Roosevelt University
M.S. Roosevelt University
M.S. Roosevelt University
M.S. Illinois Institute of Technology
lpapadem@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Naga Potluri
Lecturer
B.S. Sri Padmavati  Mahila Visvavidyalayam
B.S. Sri Padmavati  Mahila Visvavidyalayam
M.S. Sri Padmavati  Mahila Visvavidyalayam
npotluri@oakton.edu
847.635.1434
Office: 2171 Des Plaines

Pierre Pouladdege
Lecturer
B.S. Northeastern University
M.S. Northeastern University
ppouladd@oakton.edu
847.635.1690
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Larry Roth
Lecturer
B.A. Illinois State University
M.S. Illinois State University
lroth@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Harminder Rustagi
Lecturer
B.S. University of Delhi
M.S. University of Delhi
hrustagi@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Rakesh Rustagi
Lecturer
B.S. University of Delhi
M.S. University of Delhi
M.S. The Ohio State University
Ph.D The Ohio State University
rrustagi@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Beatrice Scroggin
Lecturer
B.A. Roosevelt University
M.S. DePaul University
bscroggi@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Zaya Shamoon
Lecturer
B.S. University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
M.S.E.E. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.B.A. Lake Forrest School of Management
zhamoon@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Norman Strahm
Lecturer
B.S. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
M.S.E.E. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ph.D.  Massachusetts Institute of Technology
nstrahm@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Henry Ter-Saakyants
Lecturer
B.S. Aviation College of Rylsk, Russia
M.S. Civil Aviation Engineering University of Kiev, Ukraine
Ph.D.  Civil Aviation Engineering University of Kiev, Ukraine
gtersaak@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Maria Voorhees
Lecturer
B.S. Rensselaer Polytechnic  Institute
M.S. State University of New York, Albany
mvoorhee@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Xiaomei (Rose) Wang
Lecturer
B.S. Nanjing University
M.S. Lehigh University
Ph.D. Lehigh University
rwang@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Lisa Whitlock
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.S. Northeastern University
lwhitloc@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Layne Wigle
Lecturer
B.S. California State University
M.S. California State Polytechnic  University
lwigle@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

James Wills
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.S. DePaul University
jwills@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Thomas H. Witte
Professor Emeritus of Electronics Technology
B.S.E.E. Fournier Institute of Technology
M.S.E.E. University of Illinois
M.B.A. University of Chicago
twitte@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Theresa Wong
Lecturer
B.A. Spalding University
M.A. Northeastern University
twong@oakton.edu
847.635.1688
Office: 2180, Des Plaines

Faculty Profile

preview image
As a child, Jay Cohen loved numbers. Now he’s instilling his passion for figures in his students as an award-winning accounting professor.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


November 11
Veterans Day holiday. College closed.

November 19
Registration opens for spring 2015 semester.

November 27, 28
Thanksgiving recess. College closed.

November 29, 30
Thanksgiving recess. No classes; College open.

December 16, 17
Evaluation Days.

December 17
Last day of student attendance.

December 18
Grading Day. Faculty on campus and available to students at designated times.

December 19
Grades due.

December 24 - January 4
College closed.

January 12
Faculty return for spring 2015 semester.

January 16
Winterim classes end.

Full Academic Calendar