Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Psychology Faculty

Psychology Faculty

Robert Frank
Professor of Psychology
Chair, Behavioral and Social Sciences
B.S. Illinois State University
M.S.W. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
bfrank@oakton.edu

847.635.1917
Office: 3608, Des Plaines

Greg Baldauf
Professor Emeritus of Student Development and Psychology
B.S. Northwestern University
M.Ed. Loyola University
Ph.D. Loyola University
greg@oakton.edu

Joan Boggs
Professor of Psychology
A.B. University of Illinois
M.A. Western Michigan University
jwarmbol@oakton.edu
847.635.1855
Office: 2536, Des Plaines

John D'Anca
Professor of Student Development and Psychology
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. Governors State University
C.A.S. Northern Illinois University
Ed.D. Northern Illinois University
Psy.D. The Chicago School of Professional Psychology
johnd@oakton.edu
847.635.1966
Office: 2606, Des Plaines

Eva de la Riva
Associate Professor of Psychology
B.A. University of Texas at El Paso
M.A. University of Texas at El Paso
Ph.D. University of Texas at El Paso
delariva@oakton.edu
847.376.7434
Office: 2717, Des Plaines

Michelle James
Professor of Student Development and Psychology
B.S. Howard University
M.S. Howard University
Ph.D. Howard University
mjames@oakton.edu
847.376.7604
Office: B229, Skokie

Mary Johannesen-Schmidt
B.A. Haverford College
M.A.T. University of Chicago
M.S. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
mjohanne@oakton.edu

847.635.1918
Office: 2604, Des Plaines

Paul Johnson
Professor of Student Development and Psychology
A.A. Oakton Community College
B.A. Eastern Illinois University
M.S.Ed. Eastern Illinois University
pjohnson@oakton.edu
847.376.7088
Office: 3612, Des Plaines

Michael J. Maloney
Professor Emeritus of Student Development and Psychology
B.A. Saint Mary of the Lake
M.Ed. Loyola University
Ph.D. Loyola University
mikem@oakton.edu

Hassan Sayeed
Professor of Computer Technologies and Information Systems, and Psychology
B.S. Loyola University of Chicago
M.S. Northeastern Illinois University
M.S. Illinois Institute of Technology
Ph.D. Illinois Institute of Technology
hsayeed@oakton.edu
847.376.7775
Office: B222, Skokie

Cary Schawel
Professor of Student Development and Psychology
B.A. Eastern Illinois University
M.A. Eastern Illinois University
carys@oakton.edu
847.635.1988
Office: 2614, Des Plaines

Jan Thompson-Wilda
Professor of Student Development and Psychology
B.S.Ed. Northern Illinois University
M.S.Ed. Northern Illinois University
jan@oakton.edu
847.635.1477
Office: B220, Skokie

Linda Zimmerman
Professor Emerita of Student Development and Psychology
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Norheastern Illinois University
lindaz@oakton.edu

 
Meet our part time faculty:

Javier Alonso
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
jalonso@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Marvin Bornschlegl, LCPC, CADC, CCJP
Coordinator, Human Services and Substance Abuse Counseling Programs

Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University-Chicago
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University-Chicago
mbornsch@oakton.edu
847.635.1845
Office: 2727, Des Plaines

Laura Campbell
Lecturer
B.A.S. University of Guelph (Canada)
M.S.W. Loyola University of Chicago
lcampbel@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Jay Cohen
Professor of Accounting
Lecturer, Psychology
B.S. University of Illinois Urbana
M.S. University of Illinois Urbana
M.S.W. Loyola University Chicago
jcohen@oakton.edu
847.376.7107
Office: 2550, Des Plaines

Shelley Cohen
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago Circle
M.A. Northwestern University
scohen@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Caryl Danguilan
Lecturer
B.A. National Louis University
M.A. National Louis University
caryld@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Kathy Greenberger
Lecturer
B.A. Kalamazoo College
M.A. Middlebury College
Psy.D. Illinois School of Professional Psychology
kgreenbe@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Martha Hinkle
Lecturer
B.A. Rosary College
Psy.D. Forest Institute of Professional Psychology
mhinkle@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Sandra Janowski
Lecturer
A.B. Mundelein College
M.S.W. Western Michigan University
janowski@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Marcia Kiraly
Lecturer
B.S. Ball State University
M.A. Ball State University
mkiraly@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Donald Krzyzak
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.S.W. Jane Addams College of Social Work, University of Illinois, Chicago
D.D.S. University of Illinois at Chicago
dkrzyzak@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Mary Ellen Lavin
Lecturer
B.A. Siena Heights College
M.S. Ed. University of Southern California
Ph.D. Pacifica Graduate Institute
mlavin@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Youngock Lee
Lecturer
B.S. University of Maryland at College Park
M.S.C.E. University of Maryland at College Park
M. Ed. University of Illinois at Chicago
ylee@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Kristine Lefeber
Lecturer
B.A. Carthage College
M.S. University of Wisconsin-Madison
klefeber@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Larry Marks
Lecturer
B.Sc. City College of New York
Ph.D. University of Southern California
lmarks@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Marilee McGowan
Professor Emerita of Library Sciences
B.A. Michigan State University
M.S.W. University of Illinois
M.A. Roosevelt University
mcgowan@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Michael Meyerhoff
Lecturer
B.A. Columbia University
M. Ed. Harvard University
Ed.D. Harvard University
mmeyerho@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Ann Montague
Lecturer
B.A. Carleton College
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
montague@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Barbara Muench
Lecturer
B.A. National-Louis University
M.S. National-Louis University
bmuench@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Cari Paterno
Lecturer
B.A. University of California, Santa Barbara
M.S. University of California, Santa Cruz
cpaterno@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Rachel Plews
Lecturer
B.S. Cornell University
M.Ed. Lehigh University
rplews@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Suzanne Priebe
Lecturer
B.A. Concordia College
M.A. Fuller Theological Seminary
M.A. Fuller Theological Seminary
Ph.D. Fuller Theological Seminary
spriebe@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Alan Rubin
Professor Emeritus of Psychology
A.B. University of Illinois at Chicago Circle
M.S. George Williams College
rubin@oakton.edu

Mary Antoniette (Toni) Surdo
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. National-Louis University
tsurdo@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Ariel Volpert
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A. Chicago School of Professional Psychology
avolpert@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Cathy Willis
Lecturer
B.A. National-Louis University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
cwillis@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Academic Program

preview image
From Korean to Russian to Urdu, Oakton introduces students to the world through programs in 11 modern languages.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


September 1
Labor Day holiday. College closed.

September 2
Last day to submit proof of residency, business service agreements and chargebacks/joint agreements.

September 21
Last day to withdraw from 16-week courses and have course dropped from record.

September 22
Last day to change to audit for 16-week courses.

July 31
Classes end.

October 5
Incomplete (I) grades from summer 2014 semester for which faculty have not submitted final grades will become an "F" after this date.

October 10
Last day for filing Graduation Petitions.

October 26
Last day to withdraw with a "W" from 16-week courses; Students will receive a grade in all courses in which they are enrolled after October 26.

November 11
Veterans Day holiday. College closed.

November 19
Registration opens for spring 2015 semester.

Full Academic Calendar