Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Sociology Faculty

Sociology Faculty

Gregory Hamill, Advisor
Associate Professor of Sociology
B.S. University of Illinois
A.M. University of Michigan
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
ghamill@oakton.edu
http://www.oakton.edu/user/4/ghamill/
847.376.7041
Office: 2608, Des Plaines

Megan Klein
Assistant Professor of Anthropology/Sociology
B.A. (Spanish) University of Iowa
B.B.A. (Management) University of Iowa
M.A. (Spanish) Loyola University of Chicago
M.A. (Anthropology) University of Illinois-Chicago
M.A. (Sociology) Loyola University of Chicago
mklein@oakton.edu
847.376.7125
Office: 2704, Des Plaines

Michelle Naffziger-Hirsch
Assistant Professor
B.A. Northwestern University
M.A. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
mnaffzig@oakton.edu
847.376.7269
Office: 3604, Des Plaines

Gwendolyn Nyden
Professor Emerita of Sociology
B.A. Drew University
M.A. University of Illinois
Ph.D. University of Illinois
gnyden@oakton.edu
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Meet our part time faculty:

Barbara Dayton
Lecturer
A.A. Stephens College
B.A. Pamona College
M.A. California State College at Los Angeles
bdayton@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Keith Johnson
Lecturer
B.A. University of Chicago
M.A. University of Chicago
Ph.D. Syracuse University
kjohnson@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Arthur Lubin
Lecturer
B.A. Louisiana University
M.A. Louisiana University
Ph.D. University of Georgia
alubin@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Traci Minnick
Lecturer
B.A. Western Illinois University
M.A. Western Illinois University
tminnick@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Marilee McGowan
Professor Emerita of Library Sciences
B.A. Michigan State University
M.S.W. University of Illinois
M.A. Roosevelt University
mcgowan@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Anthony Ramos
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
M.Ed. Loyola University of Chicago
aramos@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Donna Ryan
Lecturer
B.A. University of Iowa
M.S.C.M.H. Northern Illinois University
dryan@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

John Spaletto
Lecturer
A.A. Wright College
B.A. Roosevelt University
M.A. Roosevelt University
spaletto@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Cheryl Thayer
Lecturer
B.A. Doan College
M.S. Utah State University
Ph.D. Louisiana State University
cthayer@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Academic Program

preview image
In today’s worldwide economy, business practitioners need a global perspective.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


November 11
Veterans Day holiday. College closed.

November 19
Registration opens for spring 2015 semester.

November 27, 28
Thanksgiving recess. College closed.

November 29, 30
Thanksgiving recess. No classes; College open.

December 16, 17
Evaluation Days.

December 17
Last day of student attendance.

December 18
Grading Day. Faculty on campus and available to students at designated times.

December 19
Grades due.

December 24 - January 4
College closed.

January 12
Faculty return for spring 2015 semester.

January 16
Winterim classes end.

Full Academic Calendar