Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Sociology Faculty

Sociology Faculty

Gregory Hamill, Advisor
Associate Professor of Sociology
B.S. University of Illinois
A.M. University of Michigan
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
ghamill@oakton.edu
http://www.oakton.edu/user/4/ghamill/
847.376.7041
Office: 2608, Des Plaines

Megan Klein
Assistant Professor of Anthropology/Sociology
B.A. (Spanish) University of Iowa
B.B.A. (Management) University of Iowa
M.A. (Spanish) Loyola University of Chicago
M.A. (Anthropology) University of Illinois-Chicago
M.A. (Sociology) Loyola University of Chicago
mklein@oakton.edu
847.376.7125
Office: 2704, Des Plaines

Michelle Naffziger-Hirsch
Assistant Professor
B.A. Northwestern University
M.A. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
mnaffzig@oakton.edu
847.376.7269
Office: 3604, Des Plaines

Meet our part time faculty:

Barbara Dayton
Lecturer
A.A. Stephens College
B.A. Pamona College
M.A. California State College at Los Angeles
bdayton@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Mary Elizabeth Finch
Lecturer
B.A. University of Missouri-Columbia
M.A. Northwestern University
mfinch@oakton.edu847.635-1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Arthur Lubin
Lecturer
B.A. Louisiana University
M.A. Louisiana University
Ph.D. University of Georgia
alubin@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Traci Minnick
Lecturer
B.A. Western Illinois University
M.A. Western Illinois University
tminnick@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Anthony Ramos
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
M.Ed. Loyola University of Chicago
aramos@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Cheryl Thayer
Lecturer
B.A. Doan College
M.S. Utah State University
Ph.D. Louisiana State University
cthayer@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Academic Program

preview image
The United States faces a serious shortage of qualified scientists, engineers, and mathematicians. At Oakton, the Center for Promoting STEM is working to fill that gap.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


February 14
Last day to withdraw from 16-week courses and have course dropped from record*.

February 15
Presidents Day holiday, College closed.

February 16
Last day to change to audit for 16-week courses.

February 28
Incomplete (I) grades from fall 2015 semester for which faculty have not submitted final grades will become an "F" after this date.

March 11
Last day for filing Graduation Petitions.

March 14 -20
Spring Break

March 21
Classes resume after Spring Break.

March 23
Registration opens for summer 2016 semester.

March 27
Last day to withdraw with a "W" from 16-week courses; Students will receive a grade in all courses in which they are enrolled after March 29.

April 6
Registration opens for fall 2016 semester.


Full Academic Calendar