Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving

Languages, Humanities, and the Arts


Chairs, Coordinators and Full-time Faculty


Art & Design

Chair — Lou Pierrozzi, Professor of Art
lpierozz@oakton.edu

Moritz Kellerman, Professor of Art
mkellerm@oakton.edu

Judy Langston, Professor of Art and Graphic Design
Coordinator, Graphic and Multimedia
clouds@oakton.edu

Mark Palmeri, Professor of Art
mpalmeri@oakton.edu

John Smith, Professor of Graphic Design
jsmith@oakton.edu


English (English, English as a Second Language, Reading, Business and Technical Writing and WSAT)

Chair — Lynn Woodbury, Professor of English
woodbury@oakton.edu

Danielle Aquiline, Assistant Professor of English
aquiline@oakton.edu

Jelena Bankovic, Associate Professor of English
bankovic@oakton.edu

Amy Blumenthal, Professor of English
Coordinator, College Program English as a Second Language
amyblu@oakton.edu

Donovan S. Braud, Associate Professor of English
dbraud@oakton.edu

Carol Bustamante, Associate Professor of English
Coordinator, Developmental Reading and Writing
cbustama@oakton.edu

Will Crawford, Professor of English
Coordinator, Creative Writing
crawford@oakton.edu

Anna Cuomo-Paul, Professor of English
acuomo@oakton.edu

Madhuri Deshmukh, Professor of English
Coordinator, Peace and Social Justice
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu

Scott Edward Johnson, Professor of English
Coordinator, Technical Communication
sjohnson@oakton.edu

Virginia Gibbons, Professor of English
vgibbon@oakton.edu

Lori Oster, Assistant Professor of English
loster@oakton.edu

Daniel Roth, Assistant Professor of English
droth@oakton.edu

Philip Soan, Associate Professor of English
psloan@oakton.edu

Marian Staats, Assistant Professor of English
mstaats@oakton.edu

Gabriel Wallace, Professor of English
gabew@oakton.edu

Humanities and Philosophy

Chair — Hollace Graff, Professor of Philosophy
hgraff@oakton.edu

Thomas Bowen, Professor of Philosophy
Honors Program Co-Coordinator
tbowen@oakton.edu

Carlos Briones, Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
cbriones@oakton.edu

Kathleen Carot, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
Coordinator, Women’s Studies Program
kcarot@oakton.edu

Peter Hudis, Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
phudis@oakton.edu

Mohamed Mehdi, Associate Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
mmehdi@oakton.edu

Joo Heung Lee, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
jlee@oakton.edu

Amy Zumfelde, Professor of Modern Languages
azumfeld@oakton.edu


Modern Languages
(Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hebrew, Hindi/Urdu, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish)

Chair — Marguerite Solari, Professor of Modern Languages
solari@oakton.edu

Camille Harrison, Professor of Modern Languages
harrison@oakton.edu

Michael Kristiansen, Associate Professor of Modern Languages
mkristia@oakton.edu

Amy Zumfelde, Professor of Modern Languages
azumfeld@oakton.edu


Speech, Theater and Music

Chair — John Frisco, Professor of Speech and Theater
jfrisco@oakton.edu

Veronda G. Carey, Assistant Professor of Speech and Theater
vcarey@oakton.edu

Kathleen Carot, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
Coordinator, Women’s Studies Program
kcarot@oakton.edu

Robert Gynn, Professor of Speech and Theater
bgynn@oakton.edu

Patti Interrante, Associate Professor of Speech
pinterra@oakton.edu

Glenna M. Sprague, Professor of Music
Coordinator of Music
gsprague@oakton.edu

Faculty Profile

preview image
There’s a reason Larry Marks captured the 2009 Ray Hartstein Award for Outstanding Professional Excellence in Teaching.