Liberal Arts

Chairs, Coordinators and Full-time Faculty


Art and Design

Chair — Lou Pierrozzi, Professor of Art
lpierozz@oakton.edu

Moritz Kellerman, Professor of Art
mkellerm@oakton.edu

Judy Langston, Professor of Art and Graphic Design
Coordinator, Graphic and Multimedia
clouds@oakton.edu

Mark Palmeri, Professor of Art
mpalmeri@oakton.edu

Erick Rohn, Assistant Professor of Art
erohn@oakton.edu

Education and Global Studies

Coordinator  Katherine Schuster, Distinguished Professor of Education
schuster@oakton.edu

English (English, English as a Second Language, Reading, Business and Technical Writing, and WSAT)

Chair  Donovan Braud, Professor of English
dbraud@oakton.edu

Danielle Aquiline, Associate Professor of English
aquiline@oakton.edu

Jelena Bankovic, Associate Professor of English
bankovic@oakton.edu

Amy Blumenthal, Distinguished Professor of English
amyblu@oakton.edu

Carol Bustamante, Associate Professor of English
cbustama@oakton.edu

Stacy Cameron, Assistant Professor of English
Coordinator, English as a Second Language (ESL)
scameron@oakton.edu

Will Crawford, Professor of English
crawford@oakton.edu

Anna Cuomo-Paul, Professor of English
acuomo@oakton.edu

Madhuri Deshmukh, Professor of English
Coordinator, Literature & Creative Writing
Coodinator, Peace & Social Justice
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu

Tina Fakhrid-Deen, Assistant Professor of English
tfakhrid@oakton.edu

Virginia Gibbons, Professor of English
vgibbon@oakton.edu  

Kristen Hren, Associate Professor of English
khren@oakton.edu

Scott Johnson, Professor of English
Coordinator, Business & Techincal Writing (Technical Communication)
sjohnson@oakton.edu

Daryl Long, Assistant Professor of English
dlong@oakton.edu

Michael Mauritzen, Assistant Professor of English
Coordinator, Great Books
mmauritz@oakton.edu

Lori Oster, Assistant Professor of English
loster@oakton.edu

Daniel Roth, Associate Professor of English
Coordinator, Developmental English
droth@oakton.edu

Philip Sloan, Associate Professor of English
psloan@oakton.edu

Marian Staats, Assistant Professor of English
Co-coordinator, Environmental Studies
mstaats@oakton.edu

Economics, Geography, History, and Political Science

Chair  Erick Mann
emann@oakton.edu

Wendy Adele-Marie, Professor of History
Coordinator, Jewish Studies
wadelemarie@oakton.edu

Elena Ermolenko-Fein, Assistant Professor of Economics
eermolen@oakton.edu

George Lungu, Professor of Political Science
Co-Coordinator, Honors Program
lungu@oakton.edu

Michael Nicholsen, Associate Professor of History
mnichols@oakton.edu

Humanities and Philosophy

Co-chair — Hollace Graff, Professor of Philosophy
hgraff@oakton.edu

Co-chair — Mohamed Mehdi, Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
mmehdi@oakton.edu

Thomas Bowen, Professor of Philosophy
Co-coordinator, Honors Program
tbowen@oakton.edu

Carlos Briones, Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
cbriones@oakton.edu

Kathleen Carot, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
Coordinator, Women’s Studies Program
kcarot@oakton.edu

Peter Hudis, Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
phudis@oakton.edu

Kristin McCartney, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
kmccartn@oakton.edu

Glenna Sprague, Professor of Music
Coodinator of Music
gsprague@oakton.edu

Charles Townsend, Associate Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
townsend@oakton.edu

Amy Zumfelde, Professor of Modern Languages
azumfeld@oakton.edu

Modern Languages

(Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish, and Urdu)

Chair — Marguerite Solari, Professor of Modern Languages
solari@oakton.edu

Camille Harrison, Professor of Modern Languages
harrison@oakton.edu

Michael Kristiansen, Associate Professor of Modern Languages
mkristia@oakton.edu

Amy Zumfelde, Professor of Modern Languages
azumfeld@oakton.edu

Anthropology, College Studies, Psychology, Sociology, Social Sciences

Co-chair — Eva de la Riva, Associate Professor of Psychology
delariva@oakton.edu

Co-chair — Richard Stacewicz, Professor of Social Sciences and History
rstacewi@oakton.edu

John D'Anca, Professor of Psychology
johnd@oakton.edu

Robert Frank, Professor of Psychology
bfrank@oakton.edu

Victoria Giambrone, Professor of Anthropology and Geography
vgiambro@oakton.edu

Greg Hamill, Professor of Sociology
ghamill@oakton.edu

Lindsey Hewitt, Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Humanities
lhewitt@oakton.edu

Michelle James, Professor of Psychology
mjames@oakton.edu

Mary Johannesen-Schmidt, Professor of Psychology
mjohanne@oakton.edu

Paul Johnson, Professor of Psychology
pjohnson@oakton.edu

Anika Jones, Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Sociology
ajones@oakton.edu

Megan Klein, Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Sociology
mklein@oakton.edu

Michelle Naffziger-Hirsch, Assistant Professor of Sociology
mnaffzig@oakton.edu

Hassan Sayeed, Professor of Psychology
hsayeed@oakton.edu

Jan Thompson-Wilda, Professor of Psychology
jan@oakton.edu

Joan Warmbold-Boggs, Professor of Psychology
jwarmbol@oakton.edu

Speech, Theater and Music

Chair — John Frisco, Professor of Speech and Theater
jfrisco@oakton.edu

Veronda G. Carey, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
vcarey@oakton.edu

Kathleen Carot, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
Coordinator, Women’s Studies Program
kcarot@oakton.edu

Robert Gynn, Professor of Speech and Theater
bgynn@oakton.edu

Mary Ringstad-Gagliano, Associate Professor of Speech and Theater
ringstad@oakton.edu

Glenna M. Sprague, Professor of Music
Coordinator of Music
gsprague@oakton.edu