Home
     
     

Humanities and Philosophy Faculty

Holly Graff (view Biography)
Co-chair, Humanities and Philosophy
Professor of Philosophy
B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
hgrafee@oakton.edu
847.376.7033
Office: 3614, Des Plaines

Mohamed Mehdi (view Biography)
Co-chair, Humanities and Philosophy
Associate Professor of Humaities and Philosophy

B.A. University of Toronto
Ph.D. McGill University in Montreal
mmehdi@oakton.edu
847.376.7287
Office: 2616, Des Plaines

Thomas Bowen (view Biography)
Co-coordinator, Honors Program
Professor of Philosophy

B.A. University of Dayton
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
tbowen@oakton.edu
847.376.7084
Office: 2807, Des Plaines

Carlos Briones (view Biography)
Associate Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
B.S. Insituto Tecnologico de Monterrey
M.S. University of Connecticut
M.A. University of Houston
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
cbriones@oakton.edu
847.376.7163
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Kathleen Carot (view Biography)
Coordinator of Women and Gender Studies
Associate Professor of Speech and Theater

B.S. Northwestern University
B.M. Roosevelt University
M.M. Roosevelt University
kcarot@oakton.edu
847.376.7061
Office: 2825, Des Plaines

Will Crawford Jr. (view Biography)
Associate Professor of English
B.A. Jackson State University
M.A. University of Illinois, Urbana
crawford@oakton.edu
847.376.7137
Office: 3618, Des Plaines

Madhuri Deshmukh (view Biography)
Coordinator, Literature and Creative Writing

Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University of Chicago
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu
847.376.7032
Office: 2731, Des Plaines

Lindsay Hewitt (view Biography)
Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Humanities
B.A. Truman State University
M.S. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
lhewitt@oakton.edu
847.376.7044
Office: 2526, Des Plaines

Peter Hudis (view Biography)
Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
B.A. Queens College
M.A. California State University, Los Angeles
M.A. Loyola University Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University Chicago
phudis@oakton.edu
847.376.7178
Office: 2702, Des Plaines

Kristin McCartney (view Biography)
Associate Professor of Philosophy and Humanities
B.A. Miami University of Ohio
M.A. DePaul University
Ph.D. DePaul University
kmccartn@oakton.edu
847.376.7164
Office: 3616, Des Plaines

Glenna Sprague (view Biography)
Professor of Music
B.M. Capital University Conservatory of Music
M.M. Ohio University
gsprague@oakton.edu
847.635.1905
Office: 1360, Des Plaines

Marian Staats (view Biography)
Associate Professor of English

B.A. Swarthmore College
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
mstaats@oakton.edu
847.376.7103
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Amy Zumfelde (view Biography)
Professor of Modern Languages

B.A. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
azumfeld@oakton.edu
847.376.7081
Office: 2604, Des Plaines

Angelyn Anderson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.S. Illinois State University
M.S. Illinois State University
M.A. Insitute of Pastoral Studies, Loyola University Chicago
Mediation Certificate, Center for Conflict Resolution Chicago
aanderso@oakton.edu
847.635.1277
Office: A101, Skokie

Jennifer Ash (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Sydney
M.A. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
jash@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Soheila Azadi (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A University of Najafabad
B.F.A University of Pennsylvania
M.F.A University of Illinois at Chicago
sazadi@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Jon Benson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Westmont College
M.A. Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
jbenson@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Eric Bottorff (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Indiana University
M.A. University of Illinois, Urbana
ejbottorff@gmail.com
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Kelly Cherwin (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.A. Barat College
M.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
kkcherwin@aol.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Anthony Churchill (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Oakton Community College
B.F.A. Northern Illinois University
M.F.A. Academy of Art, San Francisco
achurchi@oakton.edu
Office: 1369, Des Plaines

Adam Darlage (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Xavier College
M.A. University of Chicago
Ph.D. University of Chicago
adarlage@oakton.edu
312.375.5767
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Toufic El Rassi (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
telrassi@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines 

Jason Fliess (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Point Park University
M.F.A DePaul University
jfliess@oakton.edu
773.655.4544
Office: B206, Skokie

Eduardo Frajman (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Hebrew University
M.A. University of Maryland
Ph.D. University of Maryland
efrajman@oakton.edu
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Mary Hope Griffin (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. New York University
M.A. New York University
M. Div. Yale University
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
mgriffin@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Therese Grisham (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Washington
M.A. University of Washington
Ph.D. University of Washington
therese.grisham@gmail.com
847.635.1950
OfficeL 2430, Des Plaines

Elizabeth Hoppe (view Biography)
Lecturer
M.A. Loyola University
B.A. University of Notre Dame
Ph.D. DePaul University
ehoppe@oakton.edu
773.818.2041
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

David Hunter (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.M. Northern Illinois University
Ph.D. University of Chicago
dhunter@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Matt Klinsky (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
B.A. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
mklinsky@oakton.edu
773.338.3107
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Laurence Knapp (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Virginia
M.S. Boston University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
l-knapp@sbcglobal.net
847.635.1435
Office: B3206, Skokie

Anil Lal (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Hindu College
M.A. Virginia Polytechnic Institute
alal@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Matthew MacKellar (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Moody Bible Institute
M.A. Bethel Theological Seminary
mmackell@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Eugene Muhammad (view Biography)
Lecturer

B.A. Morehouse College
M.Div. Chicago Theological Seminary
M.S. Ed. Chicago State University
Ph.D. Chicago Theological Seminary
emuhammad119@yahoo.com
847.635.1950
Office: Rom 2430, Des Plaines

Russell Newstadt (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of California at Berkley
Ph.D. Loyola University Chicago
rnewstadt@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Sherwin Ovid (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.F.A The School of Art Institute of Chicago
M.F.A University of Illinois at Chicago
sovid@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Clare Pearson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Chicago
M.A. University of Chicago
cpearson@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Linda Peters (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.S.N. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. University of Memphis
Ph.D. University of Georgia
lpeters@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Karen Petersen (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. St Olaf College
M.M. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
petersen@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Dennis Polkow (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
dpolkow@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines 

Judd Renken (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Texas, Austin
M.A. Wake Forrest University
M.A. DePaul University
Certificate: Women's Studies
j.renken@lycos.com
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Vince Samar (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.B. Syracuse University
M.Pa. Syracuse University
J.D. Syracuse University
Ph.D. University of Chicago
L.L.M. Harvard Law School
vsamar@post.harvard.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Mark Samberg (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Concordia University, Quebec
M.A. University of Chicago
msamberg@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Ida SeferRoche (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. North Central College
M.A. Loyola University Chicago
iseferro@oakton.edu847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Shannon Sloan-Spice (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Mount Mary University
M.A Pacifica Graduate Institute
Ph.D. Pacifica Graduate Instiute
dr.shannon.sloa.spice@gmail.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Michael Smith (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Columbia College, Chicago
M.A. Humboldt State University
msmith@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Beth Turk (view Biography)
Lecturer
R.N. Presbyterian-St Luke's School of Nursing
B.S.N. University of Illinois, Chicago
B.S.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
M.F.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
bethturk2@gmail.com
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie