Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Humanities and Philosophy Faculty

Humanities and Philosophy Faculty

Holly Graff (view Biography)
Chair, Humanities and Philosophy
Professor of Philosophy
B.A. Michigan State University
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Chicago
hgraff@oakton.edu
847.376.7033
Office: 3614, Des Plaines

Angelyn Anderson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.S. Illinois State University
M.S. Illinois State University
M.A. Insitute of Pastoral Studies, Loyola University Chicago
Mediation Certificate, Center for Conflict Resolution Chicago
aanderso@oakton.edu
847.635.1277
Office: A101, Skokie

Jennifer Ash (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Sydney
M.A. Northwestern University
PhD. Northwestern University
jash@oakton.edu
Office: 2742, Des Plaines

Jon Benson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Westmont College
M.A. Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
jbenson@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Eric Bottorff (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Indiana University
M.A. University of Illinois, Urbana
ejbottorff@gmail.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Thomas Bowen (view Biography)
Professor of Philosophy
B.A. University of Dayton
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
tbowen@oakton.edu
847.376.7084
Office: 2807, Des Plaines

Carlos Briones (view Biography)
Associate Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
B.S. Insituto Tecnologico de Monterrey
M.S. University of Connecticut
M.A. University of Houston
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
cbriones@oakton.edu
847.376.7163
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Herbert Bronstein (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Cincinnati
M.A. University of Cincinnati
D.D. Hebrew Union College
hbronstein@oakton.edu
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Kathleen Carot (view Biography)
Professor of Speech, Theater and Humanities
B.S. Northwestern University
B.M. Roosevelt University
M.M. Roosevelt University
kcarot@oakton.edu
847.376.7061
Office: 2739, Des Plaines

Kelly Cherwin (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.A. Barat College
M.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
kcherwin@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Anthony Churchill (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Oakton Community College
B.F.A. Northern Illinois University
M.F.A. Academy of Art, San Francisco
achurchi@oakton.edu
Office: 1369, Des Plaines

Janina Ciezadlo (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.F.A. Indiana University
M.F.A. Indiana University
M.A. Indiana University
jciezadl@oakton.edu
847.635.1952
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Will Crawford Jr. (view Biography)
Associate Professor of English
B.A. Jackson State University
M.A. University of Illinois , Urbana
crawford@oakton.edu
847.376.7137
Office: 3618, Des Plaines

Adam Darlage (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Xavier College
M.A. University of Chicago
Ph.D. University of Chicago
adarlage@oakton.edu
312.375.5767
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Madhuri Deshmukh (view Biography)
Professor of English
B.A. Loyola University of Chicago
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu
847.376.7032
Office: 2807, Des Plaines

Eduardo Frajman (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Hebrew University
M.A. University of Maryland
PhD. University of Maryland
efrajman@oakton.edu
Office: 2742, Des Plaines

Mary Hope Griffin (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. New York University
M.A. New York University
M. Div. Yale University
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
mgriffin@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Therese Grisham (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Washington
M.A. University of Washington
Ph.D. University of Washington
therese.grisham@gmail.com
847.635.1950

Michael Herbst-Synowicz (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Wisconsin
M.A. University of Wisconsin
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Lindsay Hewitt (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Truman State University
M.S. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
lhewitt@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Peter Hudis (view Biography)
Professor
B.A. Queens College
M.A. California State University, Los Angeles
M.A. Loyola University Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University Chicago
phudis@oakton.edu
847.635.7178
Office: 2702, Des Plaines

David Hunter (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.M. Northern Illinois University
Ph.D. University of Chicago
dhunter@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Laurence Knapp (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Virginia
M.S. Boston University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
l-knapp@sbcglobal.net
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Anil Lal (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Hindu College
M.A. Virginia Polytechnic Institute
alal@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

L. Paul Lawson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.Th. Jamaican Theological Seminary
B.A. Taylor University
M.A. Wheaton College
M.A. University of Chicago
Ph.D. University of Chicago
lplawson@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Joo Lee (view Biography)  
Associate Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
B.A. University of Pennsylvania
B.A. Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University
jlee@oakton.edu
847.376.7164
Office: 2753, Des Plaines

Matthew MacKellar (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Moody Bible Institute
M.A. Bethel Theological Seminary
mmackell@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Kristin McCartney (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Miama University of Ohio
M.A. DePaul University

Mohamed Mehdi (view Biography)
Assistant Professor of Humanities and Philosophy
B.A. University of Toronto
Ph.D. McGill University in Montreal
mmehdi@oakton.edu
847.376.7287
Office: 2616, Des Plaines

Eugene Muhammad (view Biography)
Lecturer

B.A. Morehouse College
M.Div. Chicago Theological Seminary
M.S. Ed. Chicago State University
Ph.D. Chicago Theological Seminary
emuhammad119@yahoo.com
847.635.1950
Office: Rom 2430, Des Plaines

Michael Paradiso-Michau (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Lewis University
M.A. Governor State University
M.A. Purdue University
Ph.D Purdue University
mmichau@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Russell Newstadt (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of California, Berkeley
rnewstad@oakton.edu
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Clare Pearson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Chicago
M.A. University of Chicago
cpearson@oakton.edu
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Linda Peters (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.S.N. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. University of Memphis
Ph.D. University of Georgia
lpeters@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Karen Petersen (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. St Olaf College
M.M. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
petersen@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Natalie Pilipuf (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Roosevelt University, Chicago
M.A. Roosevelt University, Chicago
npilipuf@oakton.edu
Office: 2742, Des Plaines


Dennis Polkow (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
dpolkow@oatkon.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines  

Toufic El Rassi (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
telrassi@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines  

Judd Renken (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Texas, Austin
M.A. Wake Forrest University
M.A. DePaul University
Certificate: Women's Studies
j.renken@lycos.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Evin Rodkey (view Biograpy)
Lecturer

B.A. Indiana University-Bloomington
M.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
erodkey@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2742, Des Plaines

Vince Samar (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.B. Syracuse University
M.Pa. Syracuse University
J.D. Syracuse University
Ph.D. University of Chicago
L.L.M. Harvard Law School
vsamar@post.harvard.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Mark Samberg (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Concordia University, Quebec
M.A. University of Chicago
msamberg@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Michael Smith (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Columbia College, Chicago
M.A. Humboldt State University
msmith@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Glenna Sprague (view Biography)
Professor of Music
B.M. Capital University Conservatory of Music
M.M. Ohio University
gsprague@oakton.edu
847.635.1905
Office: 1360, Des Plaines

Marian Staats (view Biography)
Associate Professor of English

B.A. Swarthmore College
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
mstaats@oakton.edu
847.376.7103
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Tiffany Traylor (view Biography)
Lecturer

B.A. University of Michigan-Dearborn
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
Ph.D. Union Institute and University
tifftraylor@gmail.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Beth Turk (view Biography)
Lecturer
R.N. Presbyterian-St Luke's School of Nursing
B.S.N. University of Illinois, Chicago
B.S.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
M.F.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
bethturk2@gmail.com
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Tyler Zimmer (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Vanderbilt University
M.A. Northwestern University
tzimmer@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office:2430, Des Plaines

Amy Zumfelde (view Biography)
Professor of Modern Languages

B.A. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
azumfeld@oakton.edu
847.376.7081
Office: 2712, Des Plaines


Academic Program

preview image
In today’s worldwide economy, business practitioners need a global perspective.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


October 5
Incomplete (I) grades from summer 2014 semester for which faculty have not submitted final grades will become an "F" after this date.

October 10
Last day for filing Graduation Petitions.

October 26
Last day to withdraw with a "W" from 16-week courses; Students will receive a grade in all courses in which they are enrolled after October 26.

November 11
Veterans Day holiday. College closed.

November 19
Registration opens for spring 2015 semester.

November 27, 28
Thanksgiving recess. College closed.

November 29, 30
Thanksgiving recess. No classes; College open.

December 16, 17
Evaluation Days.

December 17
Last day of student attendance.

December 18
Grading Day. Faculty on campus and available to students at designated times.

Full Academic Calendar