Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Modern Languages Faculty

Modern Languages Faculty

Marguerite Solari, Chair
Professor of Modern Languages
B.A. Universite de Toulouse-le Mirail (France)
B.A. Universite de Toulouse-le Mirail (France)
M.A. Universite de Toulouse-le Mirail (France)
Ph.D. Universite de Toulouse-le Mirail (France)
Languages: French, Spanish
msolari@oakton.edu
847.376.7012
Office: 2709, Des Plaines

Camille Harrison
Professor of Modern Languages

D.E.U.G. University of Meknes (Morocco)
B.A. University of Meknes (Morocco)
M.A. University of Meknes (Morocco)
D.E.A. University of Montpellier (France)
Languages: Arabic, French
harrison@oakton.edu
847.635.1851
Office: 2733, Des Plaines

Michael Kristiansen
Associate Professor of Modern Languages
B.A. Texas Tech University
M.A. Texas Tech University
M.A. University of Arizona
Ph.D. University of Arizona
Language: Spanish
mkristia@oakton.edu
847.376.7288
Office: 2733, Des Plaines

Amy Zumfelde
Professor of Modern Languages
B.A. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
Language: German
azumfeld@oakton.edu
847.376.7081
Office: 2712, Des Plaines

Part time faculty:
(Part-time faculty can be contacted through the Division of Languages, Humanities, and the Arts, room 2430, Des Plaines, or by calling 847.635.1950.)

Zeeshan Ali
Lecturer
B.A. Patna University (India)
M.A. Patna University (India)
Ph.D. Patna University (India)
Language: Hindi and Urdu
zali@oakton.edu

Keiko Anno
Lecturer
B.A. Meijigakuen University (Japan)
M.A. Pacific Western University
M.Ed National Louis University
Ph.D. Pacific Western University
Language:  Japanese
kanno@oakton.edu

Maria Teresa Bonfatti Sabbioni
Lecturer
B.A. University of Pavia (Italy)
M.A. Ca foscari University (Venice, Italy)
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
Language:  Italian
bonfatti@oakton.edu

Guiller Bosqued
Lecturer
M.A. Zaragoza University (Spain)
Language:  Spanish
gbosqued@oakton.edu

Brenda Carrillo
Lecturer
B. A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Language: Spanish
bcarrill@oakton.edu

Nicholas Catanese
Lecturer
B.A. Northern Illinois University
M.A. University of Arizona
Language:  Russian
catanese@oakton.edu

Jadwiga Cyparska
Lecturer
B.S. Technical University of Szczecin (Poland)
M.S. Technical University of Szczecin (Poland)
Ph.D. Technical University of Wroclaw (Poland)
Language: Polish
cyparska@oakton.edu

Gabriela Gonzalez-Grillasca
Lecturer
B.A. Instituto Tecnológico de Estudios Superiores, Monterrey, Mexico
M.A. University of Massachusetts
Language: Spanish
gonzalez@oakton.edu

Eunice M. Han
Lecturer
B.A. Duck Sung women's University (Korea)
M.B.A. Seoul City University
M.A. North Park Theological Seminary
Language: Korean
mhan@oakton.edu

Marta Kaluza
Lecturer
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Middlebury College (Spain)
Ph.D. Candidate New York University
Language: Spanish, Polish
mkaluza@oakton.edu

Megan Klein
Lecturer

B.A. University of Iowa
M.A. (Spanish) Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. (Anthropology) University of Illinois at Chicago
Language:
Spanish
mklein@oakton.edu

Richard J. Koerner
Lecturer

B.A. Ohio University
M.A. Ohio University
Language: French
rkoerner@oakton.edu

Izaskun Indacoechea
Lecturer

B.A. Universidad del País Vasco (Spain)
M.A. Universidad de Valladolid (Spain)
Ph.D. University of Barcelona (Spain)
Language:
Spanish
iindacoe@oakton.edu

Bernie Lewis
Lecturer

B.A. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
M.A. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
M.A. Middlebury College, Middlebury, Vermont
Language: Spanish
blewis@oakton.edu

Xiaohua E. Liu
Lecturer
B.A. Shaanzi Normal University (China)
M.A. University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Language: Chinese
xliu@oakton.edu

Chikako McLean
Lecturer
B.A. Roosevelt University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
Language: Japanese
cmclean@oakton.edu

Edith Monroy
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Language: Spanish
emonroy@oakton.edu

Shuko Namikawa
Lecturer
A.A. Hokusei Women's Junior College (Japan)
B.A. Coe College
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
Language: Japanese
shuko@oakton.edu

Dorina Spiering
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.A. Northwestern University
Certificate as Reading Specialist, National-Louis University
Language: Italian
dspierin@oakton.edu

Alejandra Viti
Lecturer

B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Roosevelt University, Chicago.
Language:
Spanish
aviti@oakton.edu

Dorit Weinberg
Lecturer
B.S. Hebrew University (Israel)
M.S. Northeastern Illinois University
Language: Hebrew
dweinber@oakton.edu

Alumni Profile

preview image
Cheryl-Lynn May once thought she would never attend college, let alone graduate. Now she is a Jack Kent Cooke Scholar.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


April 9
Registration opens for fall 2014 semester.

May 15, 16
Evaluation Days.

May 16
Last day of student attendance.

May 19
Grading Day
Faculty on campus and available to students at designated times.

May 19
Summer 2014 interim classes begin.

May 20
Faculty grading due.

May 20
Commencement

May 26
Memorial Day holiday. College closed.

June 9
Classes begin for summer 2014 eight-week session.

June 9
Three-week First Summer Interim faculty grading due.

June 16
Classes begin for summer 2014 seven-week session.

Full Academic Calendar