Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving

Science & Health Careers


Department Chairs, Coordinators and Full-time Faculty


Biological Sciences

Chair – Ruth Williams, Associate Professor of Biology
rwilliam@oakton.edu

Susan Anderson, Professor of Biology
anderson@oakton.edu

Maureen Carney, Professor of Biology
munchies@oakton.edu

Thomas Firak, Professor of Biology
firak@oakton.edu

Cecelia Hutchcraft, Professor of Biology
chutch@oakton.edu

Nicole Perry, Associate Professor of Biology
nperry@oakton.edu

Carol Ward, Professor of Biology
cward@oakton.edu

Paul Gulezian, Assistant Professor of Biology
pgulezia@oakton.edu

Bill Strond, Professor of Biology
bstrond@oakton.edu

Kalpa Patel, Associate Professor of Biology
kppatel@oakton.edu

Kristi Zenchak, Professor of Biology
kzenchak@oakton.edu


Physical Sciences

Chair – John Carzoli, Professor of Physics
jcarzoli@oakton.edu

Coordinator - Gary Mines, Professor of Chemistry
gmines@oakton.edu

Thomas Brehman, Professor of Earth Science/Physical Geography
granite@oakton.edu

Jennifer Cumpston, Assistant Professor of Earth Science/Physical Geography
cumpston@oakton.edu

Theodore Gotis, Associate Professor of Physics
tgotis@oakton.edu

Elizabeth Kershisnik, Associate Professor of Chemistry
ekershis@oakton.edu

Zoran Miodragovic, Professor of Chemistry
zmidrag@oakton.edu

Melodie Graber, Associate Professor of Chemistry
mgraber@oakton.edu

Chad Landrie, Associate Professor of Chemistry
clandrie@oakton.edu


Physical Education

Chair – Michael Graves, Associate Professor of Physical Education
mgraves@oakton.edu


Basic Nurse Assistant Training

Chair – Donna Dickson, Assistant Professor of Basic Nurse Assistant Training
ddickson@oakton.edu

Bincy Reginold, Assistant Professor or BNAT
breginold@oakton.edu

Sheila Zabin, Assistant Professor of BNAT
szabin@oakton.edu

Jhosa Pagulayan
jpagulay@oakton.edu


Health Information Technology

Chair – Sherry DeMonte, Associate Professor of Health Information Technology
sdemonte@oakton.edu

Victoria Fils, Professor of Health Information Technology
vfils@oakton.edu

Judy Ferraro, Associate Professor of Health Information Technology
jferraro@oakton.edu


Medical Laboratory Technology
(includes Phlebotomy and Pharmacy Technician)

Chair – Lynne Steele, Professor of Medical Laboratory Technology
lynne@oakton.edu

Nancy Heldt, Professor of Medical Laboratory Technology
nheldt@oakton.edu

Nursing

Chair – Margaret Gas, Professor of Nursing
mgas@oakton.edu

Coordinator - Ciaran O'Sullivan, Professor of Nursing
cosulliv@oakton.edu

Christine Feighery, Professor of Nursing
cfeigher@oakton.edu

Carla Ferguson, Associate Professor of Nursing
cferguso@oakton.edu

Mary Kakenmaster, Associate Professor of Nursing
mkakenma@oakton.edu

Dawn Kuerschner, Associate Professor of Nursing
dkuersch@oakton.edu

Denise Top Rhine, Professor of Nursing
toprhine@oakton.edu

Ginny Rogers, Professor of Nursing
grogers@oakton.edu

Leandro Resurreccion, Associate Professor of Nursing
lresurre@oakton.edu

Cris Sabio, Associate Professor of Nursing
csabio@oakton.edu

Winnie Sitt, Associate Professor of Nursing
wsitt@oakton.edu

Donna Talty, Professor of Nursing
dtalty@oakton.edu

Laura Thelen, Associate Professor of Nursing
thelen@oakton.edu


Physical Therapist Assistant

Chair – Mary DeNotto, Professor of Physical Therapist Assistant
maryd@oakton.edu

Mary Ann Nedorost, Associate Professor of Physical Therapist Assistant
mnedoros@oakton.edu

Luanne Olson, Professor of Physical Therapist Assistant
lolson@oakton.edu

Faculty Profile

preview image
There’s a reason Larry Marks captured the 2009 Ray Hartstein Award for Outstanding Professional Excellence in Teaching.