Tuition & Fees
Tuition and fees are as low as operating costs and state law permits and are subject to change without notice. Tuition is the same for both in- and out-of-district residents, and does not include the cost of textbooks or materials. Personal checks are accepted. When providing a check as payment, you authorize the College to either use information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check transaction. A $25 fee will be applied if your check is returned by the bank.
Students will be charged an $8 non-refundable processing fee at the time of registration. However, students who register online at Oakton’s Web site will only be charged once per semester for an unlimited number of classes. Students registering in person, by mail, or by fax will be charged an $8 fee with each registration form.
If the Alliance cancels a class, registered students will receive a 100 percent tuition refund.
If a student wishes to drop a class, a 100 percent tuition refund minus a $10 cancellation fee will be issued if the student notifies the Alliance office at least five business days prior to the first class session. No refunds will be issued for requests received less than five business days before the start of class unless authorized at the discretion of the Alliance administrators.
In-District Senior Citizens
Residents of the Oakton Community College district who are 60 years or older are eligible to enroll for one-half of the course tuition stated for most courses (unless otherwise indicated). Proof of age and in-district residency must be provided in person prior to registration.
Acceptable documentation includes: a valid Illinois driver's license or Illinois state ID; or two current bank statements or utility bills. Residency is required 30 days immediately prior to the beginning of the term. Additional proof may be requested at the discretion of the College.
Residents of the Oakton Community College district who are 65 or older and whose annual household income is less than the threshold amount provided in Section 4 of the "Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons Property Tax relief and Pharmaceutical Assistant Act" may enroll without payment of tuition in regularly scheduled "A" coded (i.e. TEC A19-01) courses provided that available classroom space exists and tuition paying students enrolled constitute the minimum number required for the course. Proof of age and a signed declaration of annual income are required at the time of registration. Completion of a waiver request form is necessary with each registration.
Textbooks and materials may be required for many classes. Costs for these items are not included in the tuition listed. See course description for specifics.
Students with Disabilities
ASSIST provides accommodations and services to college able students with documented disabilities. For information, call 847-635-1759 (Room 2400, Des Plaines campus)
No smoking is allowed inside the Des Plaines and Skokie campus buildings. At each individual site and class location, Alliance for Lifelong Learning students' are required to adhere to the specific building policies.
At times, the Alliance for Lifelong Learning may have limited scholarship funds for qualified adult learners. For more information call 847.635.1808 or 847.982.9888, option 3.
Spring registration is ongoing.
Explore the links under "Find Classes". You're sure to find something of interest.
Online Flexible Registration System
Register using our online "Flexible Registration" system; with its shopping cart functionality. The online registration system serves as a convenient and seamless method for searching, registering, and paying for classes. Visit our How to Register page today and find out more about our flexible registration system.