Modern Languages Faculty

Meet our full-time faculty:

Camille Harrison,
Chair, Modern Languages
Distinguished Professor, Arabic & French

B.A. University of Meknes (Morocco)
M.A. University of Meknes (Morocco)
D.E.A. University of Montpellier (France)
Ph.D. Universite Sorbonne Nouvelle, Paris 3 (France)
Languages: Arabic & French
harrison@oakton.edu
847.635.1851
Office: 2709, Des Plaines

Michael Kristiansen
Professor of Modern Languages
B.A. Texas Tech University
M.A. Texas Tech University
M.A. University of Arizona
Ph.D. University of Arizona
Language: Spanish
mkristia@oakton.edu
847.376.7288
Office: 2733, Des Plaines

Amy Zumfelde
Professor of Modern Languages
B.A. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
Language: German
azumfeld@oakton.edu
847.376.7081
Office: 2604, Des Plaines

Meet our part-time faculty:

Keiko Anno
Lecturer
B.A. Meijigakuen University (Japan)
M.A. Pacific Western University
M.Ed National Louis University
Ph.D. Pacific Western University
Language:  Japanese
kanno@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Elena Belova
Lecturer
M.A. Leningrad State Regional University (Russia)
Language: Russian
ebelova@oakton.edu 
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Guiller Bosqued
Lecturer
M.A. Zaragoza University (Spain)
Language:  Spanish
gbosqued@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Brenda Carrillo
Lecturer
Language:
Spanish
bcarrill@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Evelia Giraldo
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.A. Northeastern University
Language: Spanish
egiraldo@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Iftikhar Haider
Lecturer
B.A.University of the Punjab, Lahore, Pakistan
M.A. University of the Punjab, Lahore, Pakistan
M. University of the Punjab, Lahore, Pakistan
M.A. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Languages: Hindi & Urdu
ihaider@oakton.edu 
847.635.1950
Ofice: 2430, Des Plaines

Rachel Kim
Lecturer
M.A. North Park University
Language: Korean
rkim@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Bernie Lewis
Lecturer

B.A. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
M.A. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
M.A. Middlebury College
Language: Spanish
blewis@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Xiaohua (Esther) Liu
Lecturer
B.A. Shaanzi Normal University (China)
M.A. University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Language: Chinese
zliu@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Aleksandra Majkowska-Smith
Lecturer
B.A. University of Warsaw, Poland
M.A. University of Warsaw, Poland
Language: Polish
amajkowska@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Edith Monroy
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Language: Spanish
emonroy@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Ela Moskovich
Lecturer
Sr. Teaching Certificate Governmental School of Teachers, Israel
B.A. Tel-Aviv University
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
Language: Hebrew
emoskovich@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Shuko Namikawa
Lecturer
A.A. Hokusei Women's Junior College (Japan)
B.A. Coe College
M.A. Northeastern Illinois University
Language: Japanese
shuko@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Dorina Spiering
Lecturer
B.A. Northeastern University
M.A. Northwestern University
Certificate as Reading Specialist, National-Louis University
Language: Italian
dspierin@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Alejandra Viti
Lecturer

B.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. University of Illinois, Chicago
M.A. Roosevelt University, Chicago.
Language:
Spanish
aviti@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines