Sociology Faculty

Meet our full-time faculty

Michelle Naffziger-Hirsch
Co-chair, Anthropology, College Studies, Education, Psychology, Sociology & Social Sciences (ACEPSS) 
Professor of Sociology
B.A. Northwestern University
M.A. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
mnaffzig@oakton.edu
847.376.7269
Office: 3604, Des Plaines

Katherine Schuster
Co-chair, Anthropology, College Studies, Education, Psychology, Sociology & Social Sciences (ACEPSS) Department
Coordinator, Education and Global Studies
Distinguished Professor, Education
B.A. Gustavus Adolphus College
M.S. Minnesota State University
Ph.D. Loyola University - Chicago
schuster@oakton.edu
Homepage: www.oakton.edu/~schuster
847.376.7118
Office: 2526, Des Plaines

Julio Capeles
Assistant Professor of Social Science
B.A. University of Puerto Rico
M.A. New Mexico State University
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
jcapeles@oakton.edu 
847.635.1950
Office: 2702, Des Plaines

Gregory Hamill
Distinguished Professor of Sociology
B.S. University of Illinois
A.M. University of Michigan
M.A. Loyola University - Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University - Chicago
ghamill@oakton.edu
http://www.oakton.edu/user/4/ghamill/
847.376.7041
Office: 2608, Des Plaines

Anika Y. Jones
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Sociology
B.A. (Sociology) University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
B.A. (Africology: Culture and Society) University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
M.A. (Liberal Studies) University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
Ph.D. (Cultural Anthropology) University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
ajones@oakton.edu
847-376-7038
Office: 2554, Des Plaines

Megan Klein
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Sociology
B.A. (Spanish) University of Iowa
B.B.A. (Management) University of Iowa
M.A. (Spanish) Loyola University - Chicago
M.A. (Anthropology) University of Illinois-Chicago
M.A. (Sociology) Loyola University - Chicago
Ph.D. (Sociology) Loyola University - Chicago
mklein@oakton.edu
847.376.7125
Office: 2704, Des Plaines


Meet our part-time faculty:

Dana Cole
Lecturer
B.A. Indiana University
M.A. (ABD) Loyola University, Chicago
M.A. Northeastern University
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
dcole@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Yasmin Cordero
Lecturer
B.A. University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley
M.S. University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley
ycordero@oakton.edu 
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Bilal Hussain
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.A. Northeastern Illinois University
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
bhussain@oakton.edu 
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Rondell Merrill
Lecturer
B.A. Southern Utah University
M.A. Ball State University
ABD University of Illinois at Chicago
rmerrill@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Traci Minnick
Lecturer
B.A. Western Illinois University
M.A. Western Illinois University
tminnick@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Kathleen Pacyna
Lecturer
B.A. Marquette University
M.A. Loyola University - Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University - Chicago
kpacyna@oakton.edu 
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Monte Staton
Lecturer
B.A. Texas Technical University
M.A. Bowling Green State University
Ph.D. Loyola University - Chicago
mstaton@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Cheryl Thayer
Lecturer
B.A. Doan College
M.S. Utah State University
Ph.D. Louisiana State University
cthayer@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines