Primary Navigation
  • About
  • Academics
  • Continuing Education
  • Admission
  • Student Life
  • Student Services
  • Library
  • News and Events
  • Giving
Sociology Faculty

Sociology Faculty

Gregory Hamill, Advisor
Associate Professor of Sociology
B.S. University of Illinois
A.M. University of Michigan
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
ghamill@oakton.edu
http://www.oakton.edu/user/4/ghamill/
847.376.7041
Office: 2608, Des Plaines

Megan Klein
Assistant Professor of Anthropology/Sociology
B.A. (Spanish) University of Iowa
B.B.A. (Management) University of Iowa
M.A. (Spanish) Loyola University of Chicago
M.A. (Anthropology) University of Illinois-Chicago
M.A. (Sociology) Loyola University of Chicago
mklein@oakton.edu
847.376.7125
Office: 2704, Des Plaines

Michelle Naffziger-Hirsch
Assistant Professor
B.A. Northwestern University
M.A. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
mnaffzig@oakton.edu
847.376.7269
Office: 3604, Des Plaines

Gwendolyn Nyden
Professor Emerita of Sociology
B.A. Drew University
M.A. University of Illinois
Ph.D. University of Illinois
gnyden@oakton.edu
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Meet our part time faculty:

Barbara Dayton
Lecturer
A.A. Stephens College
B.A. Pamona College
M.A. California State College at Los Angeles
bdayton@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Keith Johnson
Lecturer
B.A. University of Chicago
M.A. University of Chicago
Ph.D. Syracuse University
kjohnson@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Arthur Lubin
Lecturer
B.A. Louisiana University
M.A. Louisiana University
Ph.D. University of Georgia
alubin@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

Traci Minnick
Lecturer
B.A. Western Illinois University
M.A. Western Illinois University
tminnick@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Marilee McGowan
Professor Emerita of Library Sciences
B.A. Michigan State University
M.S.W. University of Illinois
M.A. Roosevelt University
mcgowan@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Anthony Ramos
Lecturer
B.A. University of Illinois at Chicago
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
M.Ed. Loyola University of Chicago
aramos@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Donna Ryan
Lecturer
B.A. University of Iowa
M.S.C.M.H. Northern Illinois University
dryan@oakton.edu
847.635.1435
Office: B206, Skokie

John Spaletto
Lecturer
A.A. Wright College
B.A. Roosevelt University
M.A. Roosevelt University
spaletto@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Cheryl Thayer
Lecturer
B.A. Doan College
M.S. Utah State University
Ph.D. Louisiana State University
cthayer@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: 2817, Des Plaines

Academic Program

preview image
From Korean to Russian to Urdu, Oakton introduces students to the world through programs in 11 modern languages.

 

IMPORTANT DATES


March 1
Incomplete (I) grades from fall 2014 semester for which faculty have not submitted final grades will become an "F" after this date.

March 13
Last day for filing Graduation Petitions.

March 16 -22
Spring Break.

March 23
Classes resume after Spring Break

March 25
Spring 2015 semester classes begin.

March 29
Last day to withdraw with a "W" from 16-week courses; Students will receive a grade in all courses in which they are enrolled after March 29.

April 8
Registration opens for fall 2015 semester.

May 14, 15
Evaluation Days.

May 15
Last day of student attendance.

May 18
First summer 2015 interim classes begin.

Full Academic Calendar