STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) and Health Careers

Department Chairs, Coordinators and Full-time Faculty

 

Basic Nurse Assistant Training

Chair – Jhosa Pagulayan, Professor, Basic Nurse Assistant Training
jpagulay@oakton.edu

Donna Dickson, Asociate Professor of Basic Nurse Assistant Training
ddickson@oakton.edu

Bincy Reginold, Assistant Professor, Basic Nurse Assistant Training
breginold@oakton.edu

Sheila Zabin, Assistant Professor, Basic Nurse Assistant Training
szabin@oakton.edu

 

Biological Sciences

Chair – Nicole Perry, Associate Professor of Biology
nperry@oakton.edu

Coordinator, A&P - Nizar Handzic, Associate Professor of Biology
nhandzic@oakton.edu

Susan Anderson, Professor of Biology
anderson@oakton.edu

Maureen Carney, Professor of Biology
munchies@oakton.edu

Paul Gulezian, Assistant Professor of Biology
pgulezia@oakton.edu

Stephanie Levi Blumer, Assistant Professor of Biology
sblumer@oakton.edu

Kanchana Mendes, Professor of Biology
kmendes@oakton.edu

Kalpa Patel, Associate Professor of Biology
kppatel@oakton.edu

Kritika Pershad, Assistant Professor of Biology
kpershad@oakton.edu

Bill Strond, Professor of Biology
bstrond@oakton.edu

Kristi Zenchak, Professor of Biology
zenchak@oakton.edu

Suzanne Ziegenhorn, Assistant Professor of Biology
sziegenh@oakton.edu

 

CAD (Computer-Aided Design) - see Mechanical Design/CAD


Computer Networking and Systems (Cisco; Microsoft)

Chair — Reza Dai, Distinguished Professor, Electronics, Local Area Networks, and Mathematics
rdai@oakton.edu

 

Computer Applications for Business

Coordinator, Doris Gronseth, Distinguished Professor, Computer Technologies, Information Systems and Business
dgronset@oakton.edu

Coordinator, John Stryker, Distinguished Professor of Computer Technologies and Information Systems
jstryker@oakton.edu


Computer Information Systems

Coordinator, Doris Gronseth, Distinguished Professor, Computer Technologies, Information Systems and Business
dgronset@oakton.edu

Coordinator, John Stryker, Distinguished Professor of Computer Technologies and Information Systems
jstryker@oakton.edu

Ragaa Abdallah, Associate Professor of Computer Technologies and Information Systems
rabdalla@oakton.edu

Clarence Sistrunk, Associate Professor of Computer Information Systems
csistrun@oakton.edu


Computer Science

Coordinator, Ivan Temesvari, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
itemisva@oakton.edu


Electronics and Computer Technology

Chair — Majid Ghadiri, Distinguished Professor, Electronics/LAN
mghadiri@oakton.edu


Engineering

Chair — Joe Kotowski, Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Design and Mathematics
koto@oakton.edu


Health Information Technology

Chair – Hanna Wierzchowski, Professor of Health Information Technology
hwierzchowski@oakton.edu

Sherry DeMonte, Associate Professor of Health Information Technology
sdemonte@oakton.edu

Judy Ferraro, Associate Professor of Health Information Technology
jferraro@oakton.edu

 

Manufacturing

Coordinator, Boguslaw Zapal, Assistant Professor of Manufacturing
bzapal@oakton.edu


Mathematics

Chair — Jennifer Strehler, Distinguished Professor, Mathematics
strehler@oakton.edu

Maria Antonopoulos, Assistant Professor, Mathematics
mantonop@oakton.edu

Mario Borha, Assistant Professor, Mathematics
mborha@oakton.edu

Jinhee Canfield, Professor, Mathematics
jcanfiel@oakton.edu

Olga Cedrina Assistant Professor, Mathematics
ocedrina@oakton.edu

Michael Farquhar, Professor, Mathematics
mfarquha@oakton.edu

Safa Hamed, Professor, Mathematics
shamed@oakton.edu

Andrew Roach, Professor, Mathematics
aroach@oakton.edu

Christopher Saunders, Associate Professor, Mathematics
csaunder@oakton.edu

Carole Shapero, Distinguished Professor, Mathematics
cshapero@oakton.edu

Julie Shotsberger, Professor, Mathematics
jshotsbe@oakton.edu

Bradley Young, Assistant Professor, Mathematics
byoung@oakton.edu

Dorota Zak, Professor, Mathematics
dzak@oakton.edu


Mechanical Design/CAD

Chair — Joe Cirone, Distinguished Professor, Mechanical Design, Computer-Aided Design
jcirone@oakton.edu

Coordinator, Boguslaw Zapal, Manufacturing, Mechanical Design/CAD Programs
bzapal@oakton.edu


Medical Laboratory Technology
(includes Phlebotomy and Pharmacy Technician)

Chair – Lynne Steele, Professor of Medical Laboratory Technology
lynne@oakton.edu

Nancy Heldt, Professor of Medical Laboratory Technology
nheldt@oakton.edu

 

Nanotechnology
Grant Manager - John Ireland
jireland@oakton.edu

Coordinator, John Baliga, Adjunct Faculty
jbaliga@oakton.edu

 

Nursing

Chair – Margaret Gas, Professor of Nursing
mgas@oakton.edu

Coordinator - Ciaran O'Sullivan, Professor of Nursing
cosulliv@oakton.edu

Carla Ferguson, Associate Professor of Nursing
cferguso@oakton.edu

Mary Kakenmaster, Associate Professor of Nursing
mkakenma@oakton.edu

Dawn Kuerschner, Associate Professor of Nursing
dkuersch@oakton.edu

Denise Top Rhine, Professor of Nursing
toprhine@oakton.edu

Ginny Rogers, Professor of Nursing
grogers@oakton.edu

Leandro Resurreccion, Associate Professor of Nursing
lresurre@oakton.edu

Winnie Sitt, Associate Professor of Nursing
wsitt@oakton.edu

Laura Thelen, Associate Professor of Nursing
thelen@oakton.edu


Physical Education

Chair – Michael Graves, Associate Professor of Physical Education
mgraves@oakton.edu

 

Physical Sciences

Chair – Chad Landrie, Associate Professor of Chemistry
clandrie@oakton.edu

John Carzoli, Professor of Physics
jcarzoli@oakton.edu

Theodore Gotis, Professor of Physics
tgotis@oakton.edu

Elizabeth Kershisnik, Professor of Chemistry
ekershis@oakton.edu

Zoran Miodragovic, Professor of Chemistry
zmidrag@oakton.edu

Melodie Graber, Professor of Chemistry
mgraber@oakton.edu

Chad Landrie, Associate Professor of Chemistry
clandrie@oakton.edu

 

Physical Therapist Assistant

Chair – Luanne Olson, Professor of Physical Therapist Assistant
lolson@oakton.edu

Melissa Mendoza, Professor of Physical Therapist Assistant
mmendoza@oakton.edu

Mary Ann Nedorost, Associate Professor of Physical Therapist Assistant
mnedoros@oakton.edu