Division of Liberal Arts

The Liberal Arts encompass areas of learning that cultivate our broad intellectual abilities rather than technical or professional skills. Oakton’s Division of Liberal Arts includes the departments of Art and Design, Behavioral and Social Sciences, English, Historical and Policy Studies, Humanities and Philosophy, Modern Languages, and the Performing Arts.

This division encourages the exploration of human behavior and creativity through programs and departments that lead to associate degrees, certificates, and personal enrichment. In the program you choose, you’ll hone your analytical skills, engage in critical inquiry and prepare to take your next step.  

You’ll also learn in modern facilities. Our campus in Des Plaines boasts the Koehnline Museum of Art and performance spaces for music and theater, while both campuses offer outstanding libraries, state-of-the-art language labs, and well-equipped studios for art, graphic design and photography.

We’d love to tell you more about the Liberal Arts at Oakton. Browse our course offerings, plan a visit to campus or contact us today!