STEM200 Research (and Design) Courses

Make the most of your semester at Oakton! Take a STEM research course and jump into a “real world” project. Earn up to four independent study credit hours in science, technology, engineering, and math.
(1) Spend at least 30 hours on the project in the enrolled semester, and
(2) Present your findings at an end-of-semester STEM Students Symposium.

STEM Students Symposium will be held on Wed., Dec. 7 and Wed., May 2 at 2:30pm.

Each course is worth two credits and students may enroll in as many as desired. However, no more than four credits may be applied toward an Oakton degree.

Before enrolling, contact the project advisor to learn more about the topic and frequency of meetings (on campus, online, and off campus). Once you find the best fit, contact Gloria Liu at glorial@oakton.edu, 847-635-1738, to obtain an Independent Study Contract to enroll.

If you are a high school student interested in participating in one of these projects, please complete a concurrent enrollment form and receive approval from Student Recruitment & Outreach at least two weeks before the course begins.

In 2018-2019, the Oakton Educational Foundation has awarded this program a grant to provide eligible students a stipend of up to $297.50 per semester (up to $550 per calendar year). Contact Gloria Liu for more information how to receive this stipend or how to contribute to Oakton Educational Foundation to support this grant.

If you are a scientists, engineers, and researchers, please contact Gloria Liu at glorial@oakton.edu for more information about becoming a project advisor or supporting student research.

 

Fall 2018

Biology

Interdisciplinary Undergrad Lab Research (31294 - BIO 240 - 0H1, 31783 – BIO 240 001) Dr. Suzi Ziegenhorn, sziegenh@oakton.edu

Students in this project will learn the rigor of scientific research including literature review, designing a research project, conducting the project, and presenting findings. This is an interdisciplinary course team-taught by three professors. Past students have presented at professional conferences. Students in this project receive priority consideration for an Oakton STEM paid summer internship.

Chemistry

Interdisciplinary Undergrad Lab Research (31829 CHM 240 - 0H1, 30510 – CHM 240 001) Dr. Gary Mines, gmines@oakton.edu

Students in this project will learn the rigor of scientific research including literature review, designing a research project, conducting the project, and presenting findings. This is an interdisciplinary course team-taught by three professors. Past students have presented at professional conferences. Students in this project receive priority consideration for an Oakton STEM paid summer internship.

Engineering

Develop Waste Heat, H2O, & Emission Recovery System (31012 ENG 200-002) Helen Skop, hskop@yahoo.com

A Bite of Robotics (ELT 200-001; 31441 ENG 200-004; 31440 ENG 200-005) Angelo Gero, agero@oakton.edu

Design, build and test a component of a robot in preparation for 2019 NASA Robotics Mining Competition.

Teaching and developing curriculum for 3D Printing (31934 - ENG 200-006) Joe Cirone, jcirone@oakton.edu

HMX Design and Printing (31944 - ENG 200-001) Daniel Laurence, dlaurence@oakton.edu

Intro to Designa nd 3D Printing Prosthetics  (31675 - ENG 200-003) Daniel Laurence, dlaurence@oakton.edu

Physics

Advanced Modern Physics (31945 - PHY 200-001) John Carzoli, PhD, jcarzoli@oakton.edu