Oakton Student-athletes Receive Skyway Academic Honors

(July 1, 2020) More than 30 Oakton Community College student-athletes were honored by the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference (ISCC) for their academic accomplishments during the 2019-20 academic year.

To qualify for academic honors, students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher and have completed 24 college-level credits as a freshman or 48 credits as a sophomore.

“Oakton and our Athletic Department set out to support the academic, athletic and personal development of all student-athletes,” says Christine Paciero, senior manager of Athletics. “We are exceptionally proud when they earn recognition for their academic achievements, especially as they faced unique challenges this spring. Our heartfelt congratulations go out to all of them.”

Oakton honorees include the following student-athletes, listed by sport(s):

  • Jalen Avery, freshman, baseball, Oswego East High School
  • Joseph Gabel, sophomore, baseball, Maine South High School
  • Cullen Geary, sophomore, baseball, Geneva High School
  • Grant Lalla, sophomore, baseball, Glenbard West High School
  • Gabe McCall, freshman, baseball, Maine South High School
  • Zachary Rabe, sophomore, baseball, Cochrane High School
  • Ashton Schwab, freshman, baseball, Maine East High School
  • Christian Seegers, freshman, baseball, Conant High School
  • Joseph Sullivan, sophomore, baseball, Mundelein High School
  • Ian Taylor, sophomore, baseball, Conant High School
  • Jusuf Zvizdic, sophomore, baseball, Maine East High School
  • Shivam Patel, sophomore, men’s basketball, Maine West High School
  • Ali Sabet, freshman, men’s basketball, Maine East High School
  • Dominik Bronakowski, sophomore, men’s cross country, Maine West High School
  • Michael Tulsky, freshman, men’s cross country, Niles West High School
  • Nathan Dunker, freshman, men’s golf, Prospect High School
  • Matthew Johnston, sophomore, men’s golf/baseball, Maine West High School
  • Nzelu Maitha, sophomore, men’s golf, Schaumburg High School
  • Michael Ameen, sophomore, men’s soccer, Hoffman Estates High School
  • Henry Huynh, sophomore, men’s soccer, Glenbrook South High School
  • Sizar Yalda, sophomore, men’s soccer, Mather High School
  • David Zlotnik, sophomore, men’s soccer, Glenbrook South High School
  • Julio Diez, sophomore, men’s tennis, Maine West High School
  • Edgar Metaj, freshman, men’s tennis, Maine East High School
  • Jeremiah Salhay, freshman, men’s tennis, Maine East High School
  • Nerina Alic, freshman, volleyball, Niles West High School
  • Annika DeHorn, sophomore, volleyball, Glenbrook South High School
  • Joi Easterling, sophomore, volleyball, Lake View High School
  • Kellie Kortas, freshman, volleyball, Maine East High School
  • Emily Tracy, freshman, volleyball, Maine West High School
  • Lisa Jahjah, sophomore, women’s golf, Niles West High School
  • Grace Harper, sophomore, women’s soccer, Maine South High School
  • Mahima Khanal, freshman, women’s soccer, Maine South High School
  • Annika Schmidt, sophomore, women’s soccer, Maine South High School
  • Autumn Woody, sophomore, women’s soccer, Niles North High School

The ISCC is an athletic conference associated with the National Junior College Athletic Association. The conference consists of eight community colleges located in the suburbs of Chicago. Besides Oakton, other colleges in the conference include: College of Lake County, Elgin Community College, McHenry County College, Moraine Valley Community College, Prairie State College and Waubonsee Community College.