Humanities

The Exploring Humanities Pre-major is based on a range of offerings from the Humanities and Philosophy Department. It is perfect for students interested in the liberal arts. This interdisciplinary pre-major combines materials and approaches from several different areas and will give you a solid foundation for your education with an associate of arts in humanities.

With this program, you can prepare for various advanced learning opportunities at four-year institutions. The courses in this curriculum cover topics in the liberal arts that will give you a broad background in the subject so that you can be ready for your next steps, regardless of which path you take.

A popular path we recommend for Exploring Humanities Pre-major students is to combine the program with an academic concentration, such as Peace and Social Justice Studies, Global Studies, Great Books, Women’s and Gender Studies or Environmental Studies. Students who take this interdisciplinary pre-major can also focus on a specific area, such as art, music or film, by taking courses in one of these disciplines over three to four semesters.

Pre-Major

This pre-major is suitable for students who are interested in liberal arts but are not yet decided on a particular discipline. This pre-major offers a broad introduction to many disciplines, and provides a good background for transferring into many liberal arts programs. Students who are interested in a particular discipline within the arts should consult the programs offered by the Art, English, and Music or Theater departments. The Exploring Humanities pre-major can be easily combined with one or more concentrations, including Women’s and Gender Studies, Global Studies, Peace and Social Justice Studies, Great Books and Environmental Studies.

Learn More

Job Outlook

A degree in the humanities opens doors across the world. The study of human behavior and how languages are used to communicate are universal concepts in most societies. After completing a Humanities and Language program at Oakton, your new communication skills and abilities to connect with people can be applied to numerous jobs.

Oakton features many specific programs in the humanities and liberal arts. Are you interested in learning a particular foreign language? Or would you like to focus on English literature and language studies? Explore all of the humanities disciplines at Oakton to find your niche.

See All Humanities Programs

Potential Careers

  • Designer
  • Artist
  • Marketing and sales managers
  • Human Resources Worker
  • Financial Manager
  • Management Analysts
  • Teacher

Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics

Meet Your Faculty

Oakton's humanities faculty is composed of distinguished professors and lecturers. As part of the Division of Liberal Arts, our faculty is here for you to help you succeed during your studies and beyond.

Meet our full-time faculty:

Thomas Bowen (view Biography)
Co-chair, Humanities and Philosophy

Professor, Philosophy
B.A. University of Dayton
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
tbowen@oakton.edu
847.376.7084
Office: 3614, Des Plaines

Mohamed Mehdi (view Biography)
Co-chair, Humanities and Philosophy
Distinguished Professor, Humanities and Philosophy
B.A. University of Toronto
Ph.D. McGill University in Montreal
mmehdi@oakton.edu
847.376.7287
Office: 2616, Des Plaines

Carlos Briones (view Biography)
Distinuished Professor, Humanities and Philosophy
B.S. Insituto Tecnologico de Monterrey
M.S. University of Connecticut
M.A. University of Houston
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago
cbriones@oakton.edu
847.376.7163
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Will Crawford (view Biography)
Professor, English
B.A. Jackson State University
M.A. University of Illinois, Urbana
crawford@oakton.edu
847.376.7137
Office: 3618, Des Plaines

Madhuri Deshmukh (view Biography)
Coordinator, Literature
Coordinator, Peace and Social Justice Studies

Professor, English
B.A. Loyola University of Chicago
M.A. Loyola University of Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
mdeshmuk@oakton.edu
847.376.7032
Office: 2731, Des Plaines

Lindsey Hewitt (view Biography)
Coordinator, Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Professor, Anthropology and Humanities
B.A. Truman State University
M.S. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
lhewitt@oakton.edu
847.376.7044
Office: 2526, Des Plaines

Peter Hudis (view Biography)
Professor, Humanities and Philosophy
B.A. Queens College
M.A. California State University, Los Angeles
M.A. Loyola University Chicago
Ph.D. Loyola University Chicago
phudis@oakton.edu
847.376.7178
Office: 2702, Des Plaines

Kristin McCartney (view Biography)
Co-coordinator, Honors Program

Professor, Philosophy and Humanities
B.A. Miami University of Ohio
M.A. DePaul University
Ph.D. DePaul University
kmccartn@oakton.edu
847.376.7164
Office: 2146, Des Plaines

Patrick O'Donnell (view Biography)
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
B.A. Columbia University
M.A. Johns Hopkins University
M.A. Catholic University of Leuven
Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University
podonnell@oakton.edu 
847.376.7039
Office: 3616, Des Plaines

Ahalya Satkunaratnam
Associate Professor of Humanities
B.A. Loyola University, Chicago
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside
asatkunaratnam@oakton.edu 
847.635.1950
Office: 3616, Des Plaines

Glenna Sprague (view Biography)
Coordinator, Music

Professor, Music
B.M. Capital University Conservatory of Music
M.M. Ohio University
gsprague@oakton.edu
847.635.1905
Office: 1360, Des Plaines

Marian Staats (view Biography)
Co-coordinator, Environmental Studies
Professor, English
B.A. Swarthmore College
Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
mstaats@oakton.edu
847.376.7103
Office: 2514, Des Plaines

Charles M. Townsend (view Biography)
Professor, Humanities and Philosophy
B.A. Whittier College
M.A. University of California, Riverside
Ph.D. University of California, Riverside
847.635.1936
Office: 3618, Des Plaines

Amy Zumfelde (view Biography)
Professor, Modern Languages and Humanities
B.A. Bradley University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
azumfeld@oakton.edu
847.376.7081
Office: 2604, Des Plaines

 

Meet our part-time faculty:

Kioto Aoki (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.F.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
M.F.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
kaoki@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2757/2742, Des Plaines

Jennifer Ash (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Sydney
M.A. Northwestern University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
jash@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Jon Benson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Westmont College
M.A. Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
jbenson@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Eric Bottorff (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Indiana University
M.A. University of Illinois, Urbana
ejbottorff@gmail.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Kelly Cherwin (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.A. Barat College
M.A. School of the Art Institute of Chicago
kkcherwin@aol.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Adam Darlage (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Xavier College
M.A. University of Chicago
Ph.D. University of Chicago
adarlage@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Toufic El Rassi (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
telrassi@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Jason Fliess (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Point Park University
M.F.A DePaul University
jfliess@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Eduardo Frajman (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Hebrew University
M.A. University of Maryland
Ph.D. University of Maryland
efrajman@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Mary Hope Griffin (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. New York University
M.A. New York University
M.Div. Yale University
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
mgriffin@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Therese Grisham (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Washington
M.A. University of Washington
Ph.D. University of Washington
therese.grisham@gmail.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

David Hunter (view Biography)
Lecturer
A.A. Harper College
B.M. Northern Illinois University
Ph.D. University of Chicago
dhunter@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Matt Klinsky (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.S. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
B.A. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
mklinsky@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Laurence Knapp (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Virginia
M.S. Boston University
Ph.D. Northwestern University
l-knapp@sbcglobal.net
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Anil Lal (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Hindu College
M.A. Virginia Polytechnic Institute
alal@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Scott McLellan
Lecturer
B.A. College of Wooster, Wooster OH
M.A. Loyola University, Chicago
smclellan@oakton.edu
847.635.1910
Office: Room: B206, Skokie

Eugene Muhammad (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Morehouse College
M.Div. Chicago Theological Seminary
M.S. Ed. Chicago State University
Ph.D. Chicago Theological Seminary
emuhammad119@yahoo.com
847.635.1950
Office: Rom 2430, Des Plaines

Clare Pearson (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Chicago
M.A. University of Chicago
cpearson@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Dennis Polkow (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. DePaul University
M.A. DePaul University
dpolkow@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines 

Faruk Rahmanovic
Lecturer
B.A. Benedictine University
M.A. University of Hawaii
Ph.D. University of South Florida
frahmanovic@oakton.edu 
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Judd Renken (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. University of Texas, Austin
M.A. Wake Forrest University
M.A. DePaul University
Certificate: Women's Studies
j.renken@lycos.com
847.635.1910
Office: B206, Skokie

Mark Samberg (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Concordia University, Quebec
M.A. University of Chicago
msamberg@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Micah Shaw-Rutschman (view Biography)
Lecturer
B. M. Northern Illinois University
M. M. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
D.M. A. (ABD) University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
mshawrutschman@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Shannon Sloan-Spice (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Mount Mary University
M.A Pacifica Graduate Institute
Ph.D. Pacifica Graduate Institute
dr.shannon.sloa.spice@gmail.com
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

Michael Smith (view Biography)
Lecturer
B.A. Columbia College, Chicago
M.A. Humboldt State University
msmith@oakton.edu
847.635.1950
Office: 2430, Des Plaines

 

What's Next?

We are glad you are considering attending Oakton Community College. No matter where you are in your decision-making process, we are here to help you with your next steps. Whether you're ready to apply now, need information on paying for college or have questions and want to contact someone, we're here to help.

Contact Us

Thomas Bowen
Co-chair of Humanities and Philosophy
tbowen@oakton.edu

Mohamed Mehdi
Co-chair of Humanities and Philosophy
mmehdi@oakton.edu