About Us

The Oakton Community College Educational Foundation is the philanthropic arm of Oakton Community College. It is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt, public charity governed by a community-based, volunteer Board of Directors.

Established in 1977, the Foundation was chartered to raise funds in support of the College. It provides funding and resources for Oakton that are not available through normal government and tax resources. The Foundation actively seeks contributions from a variety of sources, including individuals, corporations, and other foundations. It acts as a steward of donations to the College by assuring that all gifts are designated and spent in the manner specified by the donor.  

The Foundation Board

The Foundation Board of Directors develops policies to guide the activities of the Foundation. Each member brings to the Board a unique combination of experiences, skills, and perspectives that assist the Foundation in meeting its goal of enhancing the educational environment and enriching the learning community of Oakton.

Printable PDF

Carl F. Costanza, President
Oakton Community College (retired)

Murray Sprung, Vice President/President Elect
Sprung Financial Advisors Inc.

Howard S. Singer, Immediate Past President

Jeff Coney, Treasurer
Northwestern University (retired)

August W. Schaefer, Secretary
Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (retired)

Joianne Smith, Ph.D., College President
Oakton Community College

Katherine Sawyer, CFRE, Executive Director (Ex Officio)
Oakton Community College

Board of Directors
Julie Fenton, J.D.

Hank Galatz, J.D.
W.W. Grainger

Puamuh T. Ghogomu II, J.D.

John Mabbott
Acuity Brands Lighting

Joan C. Richards, Ph.D.
Wheels Inc. (retired)

Natasha B. Richards
John Crane, Inc.

Jeffrey Rodriguez
United Parcel Service

Barbara M. Sipe

Nancy Sullivan
Illinois Ventures

Cindy Veremis
LSG Sky Chef (retired)

Corey Wise
Rivers Casino

Jodi Wrede

Oakton Liaisons
Bill Stafford, trustee
Ruben Howard II, administration
Carol Bustamante, faculty
Tim Panfil, alumni

Oakton Community College
Educational Foundation Office
1600 E. Golf Road, Suite 1420
Des Plaines, IL 60016

For more information, call 847.635.1893.