HLC Accreditation

Oakton College has successfully maintained continuous regional accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association (HLC) since 1972, most recently earning reaccreditation in 2017 for a period of 10 years. Every 10 years, Oakton engages in a thorough self-study and prepares an assurance argument as evidence in support of continuing HLC accreditation.

Accreditation by the HLC is one way the college publicly demonstrates its commitment to quality and willingness to be held externally accountable to those the college serves. The reaccreditation cycle ended with a site visit by an HLC evaluation team on September 25, 2017.

The standards of quality by which the commission determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation consists of the following five criteria:

Criterion One - Mission

The institution’s mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution’s operations.

Criterion Two - Integrity

Ethical and Responsible Conduct - The institution acts with integrity; its conduct is ethical and responsible.

Criterion Three

Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
The institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.

Criterion Four

Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs, learning environments, and support services, and it evaluates their effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.

Criterion Five

Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness
The institution’s resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and respond to future challenges and opportunities. The institution plans for the future.