WIOA (Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) Programs

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) combines federally-funded Illinois job training programs into a comprehensive “workforce development” system through which individuals can find a job or train for a new career.

WIOA provides funding to upgrade computer and personal skills and take classes to retrain for an occupation.  WIOA-eligible individuals may be awarded an Individual Training Account (ITA), which can be used for WIOA-approved programs at WIOA-approved training provider sites, such as Oakton Community College.

If you would like to participate in WIOA, here’s how to get started:

1.   Attend a WIOA Orientations at the Skokie campus. Orientations are offered the first and third Tuesday of the month, 2 – 3 p.m., room A151. They are also offered at the Evanston Public Library. Orientations are offered the second and fourth Tuesday of the month, 3 – 4 p.m., WIOA Computer Resource Lab.

Upcoming WIOA Orientations
Skokie   Evanston

Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019

   

Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019

WIOA Orientations are open to the public and registration is not required. You do not need to bring anything to the Orientation except for pen and paper to take notes.

2.   After the orientation, review the WIOA-approved programs available at Oakton.

3.   Contact Advising Services to make an appointment with an Academic Advisor to learn more about the program and Oakton’s policies and procedures.  You can reach us at 847.635.1700 (Des Plaines) or 847.635.1400 (Skokie)

Locations of local workNet offices:

Oakton Community College
National Able Network (Skokie Campus)
7701 Lincoln Avenue, Room A151
Skokie, IL 60077
847.635.1447

Evanston Public Library
1703 Orrington Avenue, 3rd floor
Evanston, IL  60201
847.448.8600

Illinois workNet Center
723 West Algonquin Road
Arlington Heights, IL  60005
847.981.7400